

#### DEPARTMENT OF WYOMING CONVENTION

# THURSDAY, JUNE 20, 2024

6:00 pm	Registration at Post 44
6:00 pm	Finance Committee Meeting at Post 44
7:00 pm	Department Executive Committee Meeting
	Post 44

# **FRIDAY, JUNE 21, 2024**

07:00 Past Commanders & Adjutants Club Breakfast

Post 44 Home

08:00 – 09:00 **REGISTRATION -** Post 44 Home

## 09:00 **Department Convention – Opening Ceremony**

**Call To Order** – Welcome Post 44 Commander Mike Williams

\*Turn Meeting over to Department Commander\*Doug Johnson

**Colors in place** 

**Invocation**- Department Chaplain – Vanessa Stuart

**POW/MIA CEREMONY** – Department Chaplain Vanessa Stuart/ Sgt at Arms Bobby Werner

**Pledge of Allegiance** – Vice Commander Barnes

**Preamble of the American Legion**  $-2^{nd}$  Vice Commander Stafford

**Call to Convention** – Adjutant Gina Mayhan

**Report of Rules Committee** – Vice Commander Barnes

	Roll Call of the Posts – Department Adjutant – (Voting Strength) Gina		
	Introduction of Guests – Department Commander		
	Report of Credentials Committee &		
09:30	Report of Resolution Committee		
09:35 Persso	Constitution Changes reading 1 – Committee Chairman PDC Kenneth on Sr.		
10:05	National Executive Committee Report – Keith Davidson		
10:15	BREAK		
10:30	<b>Greetings to The Auxiliary</b> – VC Bill Barnes, 2 <sup>nd</sup> VC Russell Stafford		
10:30	National Committee & Commission Reports 5 Minutes each		
	Americanism Commission – Ken Persson Jr.  Americanism Council – PDC Kenneth Person Sr., PDC Rick Dansereau Emblem Sales Committee – Ron Wood National Security Commission – ANEC Mike Cooke Employment & Veterans' Committee DC Doug Johnson Veterans Benefit Committee – DFO Deanna Hurless		
11:30	Legislative Report – Keith Davidson		
12:00	-LUNCH-		
13:15	Department Officers Reports 5 Minutes each		
	Department Finance Officer – Deanna Hurless Department Chaplain – Vanessa Stuart Department Historian Report – Penny Merryfield Department Adjutant – Gina Mayhan Department Service Officer – Jamie Cosey Department Judge Advocate – Department 2 <sup>nd</sup> Vice-Commander – Russell Stafford Department Vice-Commander – Bill Barnes		

14:15	-BREAK-			
14:30	District Officer Reports – 5 Minutes each.			
	District 1 – Joe Tallon District 2 – Edward Tirado District 3 - Nancy Eustice District 4 – Terry Bankert District 5 – Brian Yeager District 6 – Vanessa Stuart			
15:00	-CAUCUS-			
15:30	Candidates for Department Offices Roll Call of Posts			
16:00	<b>Bids for 2026 &amp; 2027 Conventions</b> Roll Call of Posts (make sure Newcastle Post 3 is still in for 2025 Convention)			
16:30	- Recess –			
17:00	Post Everlasting			
18:00	O Commander/President Dinner (outgoing)			
SATURDAY: JUNE 22,2024				
07:00	Past Department Commanders Breakfast			
09:00	SAL Detachment Convention – Post 44			
09:00	Department Convention Reconvenes			
	Pledge – Vice Commander Bill Barnes			
	Roll Call of the Posts – Department Adjutant – Gina Mayhan			
	Report of the Credentials Committee &			
09:15	<b>2</b> <sup>nd</sup> <b>Reading of Constitution Changes &amp; Vote</b> – Chairman Ken Persson, Sr.			
09:45	WALRUS REPORT – Director Shane Harris			
	Wyoming Veterans Commission – Director Tim Sheppard			
	Wyoming Senator – John Barrasso			

## Department Committee Reports 5 Minutes each.

Oratorical – Ben Glenn
Boys State – Brett Kahler
Shooting Sports – Mike Williams
Baseball/Women's Fast Pitch Softball – Jack Simms

#### 10:15 -BREAK-

### 10:30 Department Committee Reports Continued 5 Minutes each.

American High School Rodeo – Ken Persson Sr.

E.A. Blackmore Memorial Foundation/Committee – Ron Wood, Deanna Hurless

Hospital Committee – Keith Davidson

Newspaper Committee – Penny Merryfield, Gina Mayhan

Ways and Means Committee – VC Bill Barnes

#### 12:00 - LUNCH -

## 13:00 Reconvene – Final Report of Credentials Committee

## 13:10 Report on National Convention – Adjutant Gina Mayhan

## 13:15 **SAL Detachment Report** – Donavan Dusel

#### 13:30 **Department Awards:**

Post Commander of the Year

Post Adjutant of the Year

Membership Worker of the Year

Legionnaire of the Year

Outstanding Club Manager of the Year

Citizen Soldier of the Year

Lawman of the Year

Firefighter of the Year

Educator of the Year

EMT of the Year

District Commander of the Year

Health Care Worker of the Year

4 Chaplain's Award

#### **Youth Services Award**

The following awards are judged through information submitted by the Post Activities Report.

Lloyd Seaman Athletic Trophy Americanism Award Community Service – Large Post Community Service – Small Post

## 14:30 New Business;

**Resolutions Committee Report** 

### 14:45 **Caucus**

## 15:05 Election of Department Officers: PDC votes one vote each

**Department 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Commander** 

**Department Vice Commander** 

**Department Finance Officer** 

**Department Commander** 

Election of Delegates to the 105<sup>th</sup> National Convention

**Appointment to National Committees** – NEC / Alt. NEC Keith Davidson, Mike Cooke

# **15:40 Confirmation of Future Department Conventions**

2025 Convention –	Newcastle, WY.
2026 Convention -	

# **Good of the American Legion**

Confirmation/Instillation of District Officers
Instillation of Department Officers

# **16:30 New Department Commander Remarks**

Benediction Department Chaplin Vanessa Stuart

Retrieve MIA/POW Table

Retire the Colors

**Close Department Convention** 

#### 17:00 DEPARTMENT EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

18:00 New Department Officer & Auxiliary Officer Dinner (incoming)

**SUNDAY: JUNE 23, 2024** 

09:00 WALRUS meeting

NOTE: All reports must be typed or neatly handwritten and turned into the Department Adjutant and/or Department Commander. You can email them also to the Department Adjutant by July  $1^{\rm st}$ , 2024. This is done to ensure the minutes of the Convention can be typed up.

Department Commander Douglas Johnson 2023-2024