
December 2023 Game Situations 
 

1. With R1 on first base and no outs, B2 hits a long high fly ball to centerfield.  R1, 
believing the ball will not be caught, touches second base and starts for third when 
F8 makes an apparent spectacular catch.  R1, who is halfway to third, returns toward 
the pitcher’s plate as she heads back toward first.  However, F8 drops the ball as she 
falls to the ground, not securing the catch.    Seeing that, R1 again reverses direction 
and arrives at third base before the throw from F8.   
A) R1 is out for running out of the basepath. 
B) R1 is out for running out of the baseline. 
C) R1 is out for abandonment by leaving the basepath. 
D) R1 is out if the defense appeals that she did not retouch second base on her way to first 
E) R1 is not out as she determines her own basepath and no play was ever made on her. 

 
The correct answer is E.  The runner can establish any basepath she wants to a base.  Because 
no play was being made on her, the three-foot variance did not apply.  She could take whatever 
route she wanted to third base. 

Because she did not return to first base, she was not required to touch second base.   

Rule 2, “Definitions,” SECTION 4, “BASE LINE, PATH”  
ART 2…The traditional path traveled by a runner who is attempting to advance to the next base.  
It is defined by a direct line between two bases and 3 feet on either side of that line unless a 
fielder possesses the ball and is within 3 feet of the runner and prepared to apply a tag.  A base 
runner who attempts to avoid a tag by running more than 3 feet to either side of a fielder in 
possession of the ball shall be declared out. 
NOTE: A runner establishes a base path when the runner is not being played upon. 
 
Rule 8, “BATTER-RUNNER, RUNNER,” SECTION 3, “TOUCHING BASES IN LEGAL 
ORDER,” 

ART 2…When a runner must return to a base while the ball is in play or dead, the runner must 
touch the base(s) in reverse order.” 
EXCEPTION: On a foul ball. 

 
2. With two outs, R1 is on third base and R2 is on first base, B6 hits a pop up that 

contacts R1 after she has returned to and is standing on the base.  R1 did not 
intentionally interfere with the ball.  F5 was positioned about five feet behind the base 
line moving to catch the popup when the ball contacts R1. 
A) The ball remains live, and play continues. 
B) The ball is dead, R1 is ruled out, and the half inning is finished.   
C) The ball is dead, B6 is awarded first base, R2 is forced to second base, and R1 is 
awarded home. 
D) the ball is dead, B6 is awarded first base, R2 is forced to second base, and R1 remains 
on third base.   

 
This week the correct answer is D).  Whether a runner is on a base or running to a base and is 
hit by a ball that has not passed a defensive player, the ball is dead. Here the third baseman 
was five feet behind the base, so the ball is dead.  
 
She does not have to vacate the base because it puts her in jeopardy.  Unless the base runner 
intentionally interferes, she is not out for remaining on the base. The batter is awarded first base 
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and runners advance if forced. Otherwise, they return to the base last touched before the dead 
ball. 
 
If the third baseman were in front of the bag and the ball hit the base runner on third base, the 
ball would have remained live. 
 
Rule 5, “Dead Ball and Suspension of Play,” SECTION 1, “DEAD BALL” 
ART. 1…Ball becomes dead immediately when (Table 5-1): 
f. a fair batted ball, which is over fair ground, 

1. touches a runner or an umpire before touching any fielder and before passing any fielder 
other than the pitcher. (8-1-2a., 8-4-1f, 8-6-11) 

 
Rule 8, “Batter-Runner and Runner,” SECTION 1, “THE BATTER BECOMES A BATTER-
RUNNER,” 
ART. 2…A batter is awarded first base when: 
a. A fair batted ball strikes the person, attached equipment, or clothing of an umpire or a 

runner. 
EFFECTS: 

3. If before passing a fielder, without being touched, the ball is dead. … When A fair 
batted ball touches a runner who is in contact with a base, the ball is dead or live 
depending on whether the closest fielder is in front of the base (live) or behind the 
base (dead).  The runner is not out unless the runner intentionally interferes.   

 
PENALTIES: (Art. 2). 

1. The ball is dead.  The batter is entitled to one base without liability to be put out. 
 
SECTION 8, “RUNNER IS NOT OUT,” 
ART. 13… Hit by a fair batted ball when touching the base unless the runner intentionally 
interferes with the ball or a fielder making a play. 
 

3. Jolly old Saint Nicholas is on first base in a red and white suit while the other players 
on the team are in black and gold.  The defensive coach approaches the plate umpire 
and asks why Santa is wearing red and white.  The plate tells the defensive coach: 
A) Santa is not limited to red and white but can wear any colors he wants and has done so 

in the past. 
B) Santa is wearing red because those are the colors Clement Moore said he was wearing 

in “A Visit from Saint Nicholas.” 
C) Santa wears red because in Coca Cola advertising he wore the colors of red and white. 
D) A) and B) 
E) A) and C) 

 
The correct answer is E).  Historically Santa wore different colors.  During the Civil War, Santa 
was shown in newspaper sketches wearing stars on his jacket and stripes on his pants.   
 
In the 1920s, began using Santa in its advertising.  In 1931, Coca‑Cola commissioned illustrator 
Haddon Sundblom to paint Santa for Christmas advertisements. Those paintings established 
Santa as a warm, happy character with human features, including rosy cheeks, a white beard, 
twinkling eyes and laughter lines. In the paintings, Santa was dressed in the company’s colors 
of red and white.  Santa became a yearly fixture in Coke Christmas advertisements for the next 
30 years, and wearing a red and white suit to match Coke’s colors became a tradition.   


