
November 2023 Game Situations 
 

1. With one out, R1 is on third base and B4 has a 1-2 count.  The third strike is uncaught 
and gets passed the catcher.  The runner on third base heads home.  The batter 
remains in the batter’s box blocking the pitcher’s ability to catch the throw from the 
catcher.  The batter is out on interference and R1 returns to third base. 
A) True 
B) False 

 
The correct answer is true.  The batter is out on interference.  The pitch was an uncaught third 
strike, but first base was unoccupied, so the batter was not struck out.  However, the batter 
failed to move when there was a play at home and thus interfered. 

Rule 2, “Definitions,” SECTION 32, “INTERFERNCE (OFFENSE) 
ART 1… Interference is an act (physical or verbal) by a member of the team at bat who illegally 
impedes, hinders, or confuses a fielder… 
 
Rule 7, “Batting,” SECTION 4, “BATTER IS OUT,” 
ART. 4… The batter interferes with… catcher’s attempt to play on a runner, or by failing to make 
a reasonable effort to vacate a congested area when there is a throw to home and there is time 
for the bater to move away.  
PENALTY: The ball is dead immediately.  Runners must return to the last base touched at 
the time of the interference. 
 
ART. 7… (F.P.) A third strike is not caught in flight, a runner occupies first base at the time of the 
pitch and there are less than two outs.   

2. R1 is on third base and B7 is at bat with a 0-2 count.  B7 hits a fly ball to left field and 
R1 properly tags at third base.  On the throw from F7 the ball bounces off the catcher 
and hits the on-deck batter 1) before R1 touches home and 2) after R1 touches home.  
A) Delayed dead ball to see if an out is mad. If an out is not made, in 1) R1 is returned to 
third base and in 2) the run scored. 
B) This is a blocked ball and is immediately dead. In 1), the on-deck batter is declared out 
for interference, and R1 returns to third base. In 2) the run scored. 
C) This is a blocked ball and is immediately dead. In 1) if there was a play on R1, then R1, 
as the runner closest to home, is declared out because of interference by the on-deck batter. 
If there was no play, R1 returns to third base. In 2) the run scored. 
D) This is a blocked ball and is immediately dead.  In 1) and 2), R1, as the runner closest to 
home is declared out due to interference by the on-deck batter. 

 
The correct answer is C).  Once the ball touches the on-deck batter, it has contacted a person 
not in the game. Therefore, by definition, it is a blocked ball and immediately dead. 
 
In 1), if there was the possibility of a play on the runner advancing home, then this in 
interference. The on-deck batter is not yet in the game because she has not stepped in any 
game area, the batter’s box. Therefore, she cannot be put out so the runner closest to home, R1 
would be declared out if there were a play. If there is no play, R1 would be returned to third 
base. 
 
In 2), R1 has touched home and is retired so there is no possibility of a play. Thus, the ball is 
immediately dead, and the run scored. 
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Rule 2, “Definitions,” SECTION 2, “BALL, BATTED, BLOCKED, DEAD, DELAYED DEA, 
FLY, GROUND, PASSED, ROTATION,” 
ART 3… Blocked Ball -- A blocked ball is a live ball, pitched, batted or thrown, which is 
touched, stopped or handled by a person not engaged in the game: … 
 
ART 4…Dead Ball -- A dead ball is a ball not in play. 
SECTION 32, “INTERFERNCE (OFFENSE) 
ART 1… Interference is an act (physical or verbal) by a member of the team at bat who illegally 
impedes, hinders, or confuses a fielder… 
 
Rule 5, “Dead Ball and Suspension of Play,” SECTION 1, DEAD BALL,” 
ART 1… Ball becomes dead immediately when (Table 5-1): 
g. a pitch or any other thrown ball: 
2. is touched by nonparticipating team personnel; 
 
Rule 7, “Batting,” SECTION 5, “ON-DECK BATTER,” 
ART 4… The on-deck batter shall not commit interference with the defensive team 
PENALTIES: (Art. 4) 
1. When the interference is with a thrown or pitched ball, the ball is dead and the runner 
closest to home is declared out. If no play is obvious, no player is out, but runners shall 
return to the last base touched at the time the ball is declared dead. 
 
3. The third strike on B4 is uncaught and she beings running to first base.  On her run: 

1) she is not in the running lane and because of that, the catcher stops her throw to 
first base; 2) her left foot last touched the ground outside the running lane and is in 
the air while her right foot is in the running lane but she hinders the first baseman’s 
ability to catch the throw; 3) she is not in the running lane and the throw goes over 
the first baseman’s head because the catcher threw high to avoid her; and 4) she is in 
the running lane but hit by the throw. 
A) In 1) she is out on the intent to interfere, 2), 3), and 4) she is out on interference.   
B) In all four she is out on interference. 
C) In 2) and 3) she is out on interference.  In 1) and 4) there is no interference. 
D) In 2) she is out on interference but in 1), 3) and 4) there is no interference. 
 

The correct answer is D.  For interference to be called, there must be three things.  The batter-
runner must be outside the running lane, the catcher must throw the ball, and the throw must be 
such that the first baseman is hindered from catching it.  In 1) there was no throw so there was 
no interference.  
 
In 2) the batter-runner was outside the lane because her left foot last touched the ground 
outside the three-foot lane.  Plus, the catcher threw the ball, and the first baseman was impeded 
from being ablet to catch it.  All three criteria for interference were met. 
 
For 3), the throw was high and over the first baseman’s head.  Therefore, she had no chance of 
catching it.  Thus, there was no interference with the fielder taking the throw. The batter-runner 
was in the running lane in 4) so the first criterion of being outside the three-foot lane was not 
applicable.  If the player is in the running lane there is no interference.  

 
Rule 8, “Batter-Runner and Runner,” SECION 2, “THE BATTER-RUNNER IS OUT,” 
ART 6…The batter-runner runs outside the three-foot (0.91m) lane and in the judgement of the 
umpire, interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base (there must be a throw); however, 
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the batter-runner may run outside the three-foot (0.91m) lane to avoid a fielder attempting to 
field a batted ball.  A runner is considered outside the running lane if either foot last contacted 
the ground completely outside the lane. 
 
4. R1 is on third base and R2 is on first base with one out. B4 hits a fly ball in foul 

territory near the first-base line. R2 interferes with F3 attempting to catch the fly ball. 
The correct call is: 
A) The ball is dead immediately, R2 is out and B4 is charged with a foul ball.  R1 returns to 

third base. 
B) If the fly ball is caught by F3, both R2 and B4 are out. R1 returns to third base. 
C) B4 is out, R2 is returned to first base, and R1 returns to third base. 
D) If the fly ball is caught, B4 is out and the interference by R2 is ignored. R1 can advance 

on a proper tag. 
 
The correct answer is A).  R2 is out on interference.  Even if F3 catches the ball, it was dead 
immediately on the interference, so the catch is moot.  The ball was over foul territory and thus 
a foul ball.  B4 has a strike. 
 
Rule 2, “Definitions,” SECTION 25 “FOUL BALL, FOUL TIP,” 
ART 1… Foul Ball. A foul ball is a batted ball that: 
e. while over foul territory, an offensive player interferes with a defensive player attempting to 
field a batted ball; 
 
Rule 8, “Batter-Runner and Runner,” SECTION 6, “THE RUNNER IS OUT,” 
“A runner is out when: 
ARTI 10… The runner interferes:  
b. with a fielder attempting to field a fly ball over foul territory. 

PENALTY: (Arts. 10 through 14) The ball is dead and the runner is out.  Each other runner 
must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference. […] A foul ball is 
called in this situation and the batter remains at bat unless it was a bunt attempt with two 
strikes on the batter (F.P.) or it was the third strike (S.P.); the batter is also out in these 
cases.  


