# TOWN OF FAIRFAX CLIMATE ACTION COMMITTEE (CAC) SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

## DATE, TIME, PLACE:

Saturday, January 16, 2021, 9:00 AM, via Videoconference

## **PURPOSE OF MEETING:**

Special Meeting

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

• Chair Vernon called meeting to order at 9:07 am.

#### 2. ROLL CALL

- CAC MEMBERS PRESENT: Walt Vernon (Chair), Jody Timms, Bruce Ackerman (Council Member), Stephanie Hellman (Council Member), Joanne Lasnier (Secretary), Chris Lang, Beth Verdekal
- CAC MEMBERS ABSENT: David Haskell, Kiki La Porta, Jennifer Hammond
- **GUEST:** Laura Vernon (Community Member)

#### 3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA AND AFFIDAVIT OF POSTING

- M/S: Vernon, Lang, Motion to approve the Agenda and Affidavit of Posting with item #5 moved to end AYES: Vernon, Timms, Ackerman, Hellman, Lasnier, Lang, Verdekal
- 4. LAND ACKNOWLEDGMENT
- The Fairfax Climate Action Committee acknowledges that we are located on the un-ceded ancestral lands of the Coast Miwok people of present-day Marin County. We honor with gratitude the land itself, and all of its ancestors: past, present, and emerging.

### 6. CREATE 2021-2022 ACTION PLAN

- Committee members agreed to focus on three main strategies for 2021-2022 Action Plan:
  - o Community Outreach
  - o Decarbonizing Transportation
  - o Decarbonizing Buildings
- To create 2021-2022 Action Plan: Identify specific deliverables for each category; estimate budget requirements
- Break-out rooms set up in zoom to complete A3 forms for each strategy, list specific deliverables for each category, and estimate budget requirements
  - o Community Outreach: Beth, Laura, Stephanie
  - o Decarbonizing Transportation: Joanne, Jody, Chris
  - o Decarbonizing Buildings: Walt, Bruce
- Break-out teams then presented their A3s, with plan to meet again and complete them before or during next CAC meeting

# 7. DEVELOP BUDGET REQUEST FOR 2021-2022 FISCAL YEAR

• Budget requests to be pulled from completed A3s

## 5. REVIEW 2020-2021 ACTION PLAN

• Deferred to January 19 Regular Meeting

# **ADJOURNMENT**

• M/S, Lang/Hellman: Motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:34 a.m. AYES: Ackerman, Hellman, Timms, Lang, Verdekal, Vernon, Lasnier

**RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED** by Joanne Lasnier, Secretary