February 10, 2022

City Councilors,

With the questions that came up during the last meeting regarding City Council appointments to the Community Preservation Committee, as well as additional open questions that have come up since, it seemed the most efficient method to convey the information you need so you can take informed votes on appointments would be to put the relevant details and history in a communication for you to receive. On the second page of this communication, you will find the section of the CPC ordinance that specifically relates to its membership.

Here is the history of the City Council's appointments to the CPA.

Three At-large members were appointed by the City Council on August 1, 2017. All three were ballot votes requiring a simple majority.

- Kip Foley was appointed for one year, to expire on January 31, 2018.
- Andrew McMahon was appointed for two years, to expire on January 31, 2019.
- Elaine Pluta was appointed for three years, to expire on January 31, 2020.

On November 20, 2018, Kip Foley was reappointed to a three year term by a ballot vote.

On May 21, 2019, City Council instructed Personnel to advertise for the seat held by Andrew McMahon.

On October 15, 2019, Meagan Magrath-Smith was appointed to a three year term to fill the seat previously held by Andrew McMahon by a voice vote.

On July 9, 2020, Personnel posted for the open position held by Elaine Pluta

On August 4, 2020, Rick Dominguez was appointed to a three year term to fill the seat previously held by Elaine Pluta by a ballot vote.

On June 14, 2021, Personnel posted for the open position held by Rick Dominguez

On July 23, 2021, Rick Dominguez resigned from his seat.

Francesca began attending CPC meetings in October while they waited for completion of the resume and cover letter, and for Public Service to take it up. Maribel Ortiz later expressed interest and also began joining their meetings. It is their intention that Ms. Nunez will complete Mr. Dominguez's term while Ms. Ortiz will fill the vacancy from Mr. Foley's seat.

While the original terms were all set to expire on January 31st, it does appear that in practice, subsequent appointments have had their terms set as three years from the time of appointment.

Sec. 2-467. - Establishment and membership.

There is hereby established a community *preservation* committee consisting of a total of nine voting members pursuant to M.G.L. c. 44B § 5.

- (1) Membership. The membership of said committee shall be composed of the following:
 - a. One member of the conservation commission, as designated by such commission;
 - b. One member of the historical commission, as designated by such commission;
 - c. One member of the planning board, as designated by the board;
 - d. One member of the parks & recreation commission, as designated by such commission;
 - e. One member of the Holyoke Housing Authority, as designated by the authority;
 - f. One member of the city council, as designated by the city council president;
 - g. Three at-large members, as appointed by the city council.

Unless otherwise addressed in section (b), members of the community *preservation* committee shall serve a term determined by their designating authority, not to exceed three years. All members, at-large and otherwise, are eligible for reappointment. Should any appointing or designating authority fail to appoint a successor to a committee member whose term is expiring, such member may continue to serve until the relevant determining authority names a successor. Members may be removed in a manner determined by their designating authority. A vacancy of the committee shall be filled in a manner prescribed by the relevant designating authority. No member of the community *preservation* committee shall serve on said committee for compensation.

- (2) At-large members. At-large members of the committee shall be residents of the city and shall neither be employees of the city nor serve on any other board or commission. At-large members shall be appointed by a majority vote of the city council. At-large members shall be appointed to the following initial terms: one for a one-year term, one for a two-year term, and one for a three-year term. All subsequent terms shall be for three years. No at-large member of the committee shall serve more than six consecutive years at a time. A waiting period of three years shall be imposed on any at-large member of the committee after serving six consecutive years, if they wish to rejoin the committee. Any at-large member of the committee may be removed by $\frac{2}{3}$ rds vote of the city council.
- (3) Within 60 days of the adoption of this section, each designating authority shall make their initial appointments to the committee.