BE IT REMEMBERED that a Special Meeting of the City Council of Jackson, Mississippi, was called by a majority of the City Council Members and notices having been placed by the Clerk of Council at 10:50 a.m. Monday, July 22, 2024, in the Clerk of Council's Office, electronic notifications to all Council Members, on the City's website and on the public bulletin board in City Hall, relative to: (1) Discussion: Redistricting. The meeting was convened at Central Mississippi Planning and Development District (CMPDD) located at 1020 Centre Point Boulevard Pearl, MS at 10: 00 a.m. on July 25, 2024 being the fourth Thursday of said month, when and where the following things were had and done to wit:

Present:

Council Members: Virgi Lindsay, Council President, Ward 7; Brian Grizzell, Council Vice President, Ward 4; Ashby Foote, Ward 1; Angelique Lee, Ward 2; Vernon Hartley, Ward 5 and Aaron Banks, Ward 6. Directors: Louis Wright, Chief Administrative Officer; Shanekia Jordan, Clerk of Council; Kathy Cole, Deputy Clerk of Council and Drew Martin, City Attorney.

Absent:

Kenneth Stokes, Ward 3.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

The meeting was called to order by President Lindsay.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

DISCUSSION: REDISTRICTING: President Lindsay recognized Gray Ouzts, CMPDD Principal Planner who spoke in regards to redistricting for the City of Jackson based on the 2020 Census data. Council Member Banks provided a brief overview of the redistricting process. President Lindsay stated that the Council would start discussing Option 3. Each Council Member discussed their concerns and made additional changes to Option 3 to draw a sixth (6th) map. All council members except Council Member Hartley agreed that Option 6 would be brought forth to the Council to vote on at a later date.

There being no further business to come before the City Council, it was unanimously voted to adjourn until the Regular Council Meeting at 10:00 a.m. on July 30, 2024. At 10:27 a.m., the Council stood adjourned.

PREPARED BY:

CLERK OF COUNCIL

APPROVED:

COUNCIL PRESIDENT DATE

MAYOR

AIILSI

CITY CLERK