BE IT REMEMBERED that a Confirmation Hearing of the City Council of Jackson, Mississippi, was convened in the Council Chambers in City Hall at 2:00 p.m. on September 17, 2014, being the third Wednesday of said month, when and where the following things were had and done to wit:

Present: Council Members: De'Keither Stamps, President, Ward 4; Melvin

Priester, Jr., Ward 2; Charles Tillman, Ward 5 and Margaret Barrett-Simon, Ward 7. Directors: Tony Yarber, Mayor; Kristi Moore, Interim City Clerk; Angela Harris, Deputy City Clerk and James Anderson,

Special Assistant to the City Attorney.

Absent: Council Members: Quentin Whitwell, Ward 1; LaRita Cooper-Stokes,

Ward 3 and Tyrone Hendrix, Ward 6.

The meeting was called to order by President De'Keither Stamps.

neeting was cance to order by I resident be Reither Stam

ORDER CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S NOMINATION OF GEAN TUCKER JOHNSON TO THE HISTORIC PRESERVATION BOARD.

WHEREAS, the Historic Preservation Board consist of seven (7) members, two (2) at large for a term of three (3) years; and

WHEREAS, Curtis Johnson's term expired on January 23, 2013, thereby creating a vacancy; and

WHEREAS, Gean Tucker Johnson, resident of Ward 6, after evaluation of her qualifications, has been nominated by the Mayor to fill said vacancy.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the Mayor's nomination of Gean Tucker Johnson to the Historic Preservation Board be confirmed with said term to expire October 31, 2017.

Council Member Barrett-Simon moved adoption; Council Member Tillman seconded.

President Stamps recognized Mayor Tony Yarber who provided a brief presentation on the qualifications of Gean Tucker Johnson for consideration to the Historic Preservation Board. Gean Tucker Johnson read her personal statement and answered questions posed to her by Council Members.

Thereafter, President Stamps called for a vote:

Yeas- Barrett-Simon, Priester, Stamps and Tillman.

Nays- None.

Absent- Cooper-Stokes, Hendrix and Whitwell.

ORDER CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S NOMINATION OF DR. GEORGE WASHINGTON TO THE HISTORIC PRESERVATION BOARD.

WHEREAS, the Historic Preservation Board consist of seven (7) members, two (2) at large for a term of three (3) years; and

WHEREAS, Betty Lyons's term expired on January 23, 2013, thereby creating a vacancy; and

WHEREAS, Dr. George Washington, resident of Ward 3, after evaluation of his qualifications, has been nominated by the Mayor to fill said vacancy.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the Mayor's nomination of Dr. George Washington to the Historic Preservation Board be confirmed with said term to expire October 31, 2017.

Council Member Barrett-Simon moved adoption; Council Member Priester seconded.

President Stamps recognized **Mayor Tony Yarber** who provided a brief presentation on the qualifications of **Dr. George Washington** for consideration to the Historic Preservation Board. **Dr. George Washington** read his personal statement and answered questions posed to him by Council Members.

Thereafter, **President Stamps** called for a vote:

Yeas- Barrett-Simon, Priester, Stamps and Tillman.

Nays- None.

Absent- Cooper-Stokes, Hendrix and Whitwell.

ORDER CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S NOMINATION OF DR. RICO CHAPMAN TO THE HISTORIC PRESERVATION BOARD.

WHEREAS, the Historic Preservation Board consist of seven (7) members, two (2) at large for a term of three (3) years; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Rico Chapman will represent Ward 5 on the Historic Preservation Board; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Rico Chapman, resident of Ward 5, after evaluation of his qualifications, has been nominated by the Mayor to fill said vacancy.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the Mayor's nomination of Dr. Rico Chapman to the Historic Preservation Board be confirmed with said term to expire October 31, 2017.

Council Member Tillman moved adoption; Council Member Barrett-Simon seconded.

President Stamps recognized Mayor Tony Yarber who provided a brief presentation on the qualifications of Dr. Rico Chapman for consideration to the Historic Preservation Board. Dr. Rico Chapman read his personal statement and answered questions posed to him by Council Members.

Thereafter, **President Stamps** called for a vote:

Yeas- Barrett-Simon, Priester, Stamps and Tillman.

Nays- None.

Absent- Cooper-Stokes, Hendrix and Whitwell.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

CONFIRMATION HEARING OF THE CITY COUNCIL WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 17, 2014 2:00 P.M.

583

ORDER CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S NOMINATION OF JEFFREY SEABOLD TO THE HISTORIC PRESERVATION BOARD.

WHEREAS, the Historic Preservation Board consist of seven (7) members, two (2) at large for a term of three (3) years; and

WHEREAS, Jeffrey Seabold will be filling a vacant seat for Ward 7; and

WHEREAS, Jeffrey Seabold, resident of Ward 7, after evaluation of his qualifications, has been nominated by the Mayor to fill said vacancy.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the Mayor's nomination of Jeffrey Seabold to the Historic Preservation Board be confirmed with said term to expire October 31, 2017.

Council Member Barrett-Simon moved adoption; Council Member Tillman seconded.

President Stamps recognized **Mayor Tony Yarber** who provided a brief presentation on the qualifications of **Jeffrey Seabold** for consideration to the Historic Preservation Board. **Jeffrey Seabold** read his personal statement and answered questions posed to him by Council Members.

Thereafter, President Stamps called for a vote:

Yeas- Barrett-Simon, Priester, Stamps and Tillman.

Nays- None.

Absent- Cooper-Stokes, Hendrix and Whitwell.

The following reports/announcements were provided during the meeting:

 Mayor Yarber announced that all the nominees upon confirmation will be briefed and trained by the Legal Department regarding their perspective functions to the various boards and commissions.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

There being no further business to come before the City Council, it was unanimously voted to adjourn until the next Confirmation Hearing to be held at 2:00 p.m. on Thursday, September 18, 2014 and at 2:55 p.m., the Council stood adjourned.

ATTEST:

NITEDIM CITY CLEDY

APPROVED:

DATI

* * * * * * * * * *