# MINUTES SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MEETING November 17, 2020 4:00 P.M.

State of Texas County of Wise City of New Fairview

The City Council of New Fairview convened into a Special Meeting. The same being open to the public, the 17<sup>th</sup> day of November 2020 in the New Fairview City Hall, and notice of said meeting giving the time, place and subject therefore having been posted as prescribed by Article 5 of the Texas Governmental Code, with the following council members present to wit:

# PRESENT

Mayor Pro Tem Scott Johnson Councilman Rick White

# ABSENT

Councilman William Payne Councilman Charlie Stumm Councilwoman Rebecca McPherson

## **PRESENT:**

City Administrator Ben Nibarger City Secretary Monica Rodriguez City Clerk Brooke Boller

٦

ITEM NUMBER 1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER: Mayor Pro Tem Scott Johnson called the meeting to order at 4:00PM

ITEM NUMBER 2. ROLL CALL: Roll call with the above-mentioned names present

# ITEM NUMBER 3. PLEDGE TO FLAGS

A. United States of America

**B.** Texas Flag Honor the Texas Flag, I pledge allegiance to thee, Texas, one state under God, one and indivisible

#### **ITEM NUMBER 4. NEW BUSINESS: CANVASSING AND SWEARING IN**

Pursuant to Election Code 67.003 this is required to be done between November 6 - 17 to canvass. Requirement per Secretary of the State of Texas that only two votes from the present Council are needed to pass this motion.

A. <u>Consider and Act on a resolution accepting the results and canvassing of the 2020 election.</u> Mayor Pro Tem Johnson and Councilman White congratulated the new elected candidates. Councilman White made a motion to approve Resolution <u>R202011-17-137</u> accepting the results of the election and canvassing of the 2020 General and Special election. Motion seconded by Mayor Pro Tem Johnson. Motion passed unanimously.

## **RESOLUTION NO. R202011-17-137**

A RESOLUTION CANVASSING THE RETURNS OF THE GENERAL MUNICIPAL ELECTION AND SPECIAL ELECTION HELD WITHIN THE CITY OF NEW FAIRVIEW ON THE 3rd DAY OF NOVEMBER, 2020 FOR THE PURPOSE OF ELECTING PLACE 1, PLACE 3 AND PLACE 5 GENERAL ELECTION FOR A TWO YEAR TERM AND PLACE 2 AND PLACE 4 SPECIAL ELECTION FOR A ONE YEAR TERM. THE CITY OF NEW FAIRVIEW IS A GENERAL LAW A CITY AND THE RESULTS ARE DETERMINED BY A VOTE THAT IS AT LARGE, AND DECLARING THE RESULTS OF THE ELECTION; FINDING THAT NOTICE OF THE ELECTION WAS PROPERLY HELD AND THE RETURNS THEREOF MADE BY THE PROPER OFFICIALS IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE LAWS OF THE STATE OF TEXAS; AND PROVIDING FOR THE EFFECTIVE DATE THEREOF.

# NOW, THERFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF NEW FAIRVIEW, TEXAS, THAT:

Section 1: After canvassing the returns of said election pursuant to the ordinances of the City of New Fairview and pursuant to the applicable provisions of the Texas Election Code, the canvassing board certifies the following true and correct results, to-wit:

General Election: Place 1- Julie Ann Burger - 227 votes

Place 3 – Steve Misner – 233 votes

Place 5 – Connie Stewart – 261 votes

Special Election: Place 2 – Patrick Gunter – 252 votes

Place 4 – Walter Clements – 224 votes

# B. <u>Issue Certificates of Election, Statements of Office & Oath of office to the new elected</u> <u>Council Seats Place 1 Place 2 Place 3 Place 4 & Place 5</u>

City Secretary Monica Rodriguez administered the oath of office to each of the newly elected candidates, In the name and by the authority of the state of Texas swearing that they will faithfully execute the duties of the office they were elected to and will to the best of their ability preserve, protect and defend the Constitution and laws of the United States and of this State.City Secretary administered the Statements of Office to the new elected candidates swearing that they have not directly or indirectly paid, offered, promised to pay, contributed, or promised to contribute any money or thing of value or promised any public officer or employment for the giving or withholding of a vote at the election at which they were elected or as reward to secure their appointment or confirmation.

# **ITEM NUMBER 5. ADJOURN:**

Meeting adjourned at 4:30PM

**APPROVED:** contt 6

Mayor Pro Tem Scott Johnson

**Councilman Rick White** 

Monica Rodriguez, City Secreta

SEAL:





•

,