City of Palmview History of Election of Mayors & City Officials

The City of Palmview was incorporated on April 15, 1972.

The city's "Founding Fathers" were known as "Directors" serving voluntarily in an unofficial capacity from inception until the first organized election was held. Unfortunately, from the time of incorporation to the first election, there was no official recordkeeping as there was no secretary and no City Hall; nonetheless, individuals with personal recollection affirmed that directors met at people's homes to dicuss matters of the city and visions for future growth. Directors were known to be: Miguel de Luna, Juan G. Garza, Jose Rolando Pena, Rodolfo Rodriguez, Robert Rodrigue Jr., Mario Saenz, and Ramiro Vela.

Date of Election	Mayor	Mayor's Term	City Officials serving with concurre Mayor	Official's Term
4/4/1983	Ramiro Vela	1983- 4/15/1986	Miguel De Luna	4/1983 - 4/1986
			Juan G. Garza	4/1983 - 4/1986
			Rodolfo Rodriguez	4/1983 - 4/1986
			Jose Rolando Pena	4/1983 - 4/1986
			Robert Rodrique Jr.	4/1983 - 4/1986
			Horacio Garza	4/1983 - 4/1986
4/5/1986	Jose Rolando Pena	4/1986 - 4/1989	Ramiro Vela	4/1986 - 4/1989
			Miguel De Luna	4/1986 - 4/1989
			Robert Rodrique Jr.	4/1986 - 4/1989
			Rodolfo Rodriguez	4/1986 - 4/1989
			Juan G. Garza	4/1986 - 4/1989
5/6/1989	Jose Rolando Pena	5/1989 - 3/1993	Rodolfo Rodriguez	5/1989 - 5/1993
			Juan G. Garza	5/1989 - 5/1993
			Ramiro Vela (Resigned 11/1992)	5/1989 - 5/1993
			Robert Rodrique Jr. (Resigned 11/1992)	5/1989 - 5/1993
			Miguel De Luna	5/1989 - 5/1993
3/9/1993 Special Election to fill two vacancies	Jose Rolando Pena	5/1989-3/1993	Horacio Garza (UT)	3/1993-5/1995
			Ricardo Canales (UT)	3/1993-5/1995
5/6/1995	Jorge G. Garcia	5/9/1995 - 5/1998	Solomon A. Garcia III	5/1995-5/1998
			Graciela "Gracie" S. Flores	5/1995-5/1998
			Arturo Mendiola	5/1995-5/1998
			Eddie Perez	5/1995-5/1998
			Gerardo "Jerry" Perez	5/1995-5/1998
5/2/1998	Jorge G. Garcia	5/1998-5/2001	PI 1 - Gerardo "Jerry" Perez	5/1998 - 5/2001
Election cancelled	Place Numbers were assigned prior to the		PI 2 - Noe R. Munoz	5/1998 5/2001
due to unopposed			PI 3 - Gracie Flores	5/1998 - 5/2001
candidates declared elected			PI 4 - Eraclio Villarreal (Resigned	5/1998 - 5/2001
			1999) PI 5 - Solomon A. Garcia III	5/1998-5/2001
			(Resigned)	5/1996-5/2001
8/14/1999			Pl. 5 Sarah E. Garcia (UT)	8/1999 - 5/2001
Election cancelled due to unopposed candidate declared elected				
3/4/2000			Pl. 4 Fernando Esquivel (UT)	4/2000 - 5/2001
Election cancelled due to unopposed candidate declared elected				
5/5/2001	Jorge G. Garcia	5/2001 - 5/2004	PI 1 - Jerry Perez	5/2001 - 5/2004
		7	PI 2 - Noe R. Munoz	5/2001 - 5/2004
			PI 3 - Gracie Flores	5/2001 - 5/2004

acianceno (UT) ia ance 2021-06-O on Ju mirez Perez	11/2020 - 11/2024 une 1, 2021 - effectiv 11/2020 - 5/2024 5/2022 - 5/2026
acianceno (UT) ia nnce 2021-06-O on Ju	une 1, 2021 - effectiv
acianceno (UT) ia	
acianceno (UT) ia	
acianceno (UT)	
	12/2020 - 11/2022
Flores	11/2020 - 11/2024
Perez	11/2018 -11/2022*
nirez	11/2020 - 11/2024
ia Sr.	11/2016 - 11/2020
Iresti (Resigned	11/2018 - 11/2022
abia	11/2016 - 11/2020
Perez	11/2018 - 11/2022
nirez	11/2016 - 11/2020
ia Sr.	11/2016 - 11/2020
real	5/2014 - 11/2018
abia	11/2016 - 11/2020
ernandez	5/2014 - 11/2018
mirez	11/2016 - 11/2020
y to November	11/2016 44/2022
nd ratified on July 18,	, 2016 by Ordinance
ia Jr.	5/2012 - 5/2016*
real	5/2014 - 11/2018
ores	5/2012 - 5/2016*
ernandez	5/2014 - 11/2018
acianceno (UT)	5/2014 - 5/2016*
ia Jr.	5/2012 - 5/2016
real	5/2010-5/2014
ores	5/2012 - 5/2016
noz	5/2010-5/2014
ez	5/2012 - 5/2016
ia Jr. (UT)	7/2010 - 5/2012
,	
Rick) Villarreal	5/2010 - 5/2014
ores	5/2008-5/2012
noz	5/2010 - 5/2014
ez	5/2008-5/2012
ti (Resigned 2010)	5/2008-5/2012
Esquivel	5/2004-5/2008
ores	5/2008-5/2012
noz	5/2004-2008
ez	5/2008-5/2012
ti	5/2004 - 5/2008
Esquivel	5/2004 - 5/2008
ores	5/2004 - 5/2008
noz	5/2004 - 5/2008
9Z	5/2004 - 5/2004
arcia	5/2001 - 5/2004
	quivel cia

		PI 3 - Alexandra Flores	11/2020 - 5/2024					
			PI 4 - Benito Hernandez	5/2022 - 5/2026				
			PI 5 - Joel Garcia	11/2020 - 5/2024***				
***A Charter Amendment Election held November 7, 2023 elminated PI 5 effective after May 4, 2024								
5/4/2024; 6/15/2024	Rick Villarreal	6/2022 - 5/2026	PI 1 - TBD	6/2024 - 5/2028				
Run-off			PI 2 - Jose Luis Perez	5/2022 - 5/2026				
			PI 3 - Alexandra Flores	5/2024 - 5/2028				
			PI 4 - Benito Hernandez	5/2022 - 5/2026				

UT = Unexpired term

HISTORY LESSON: The City of Palmview name was derived from two business establishments from the early 1970's known as *Palmview Fruit Stand* and thereafter *Palmview Drive In*, which were established by Roberto Garza Sr. It is important to recognize the Garza Family as they also established numerous businesses in the early 1970's known as *Ricky's Auto Sales*, *Becky's Hair Fashions*, and *Robert's Western Wear*, that were also located adjacent to a building along our current Frontage Road - that served as City Hall in the late 1970's.