

### CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING – MINUTES THURSDAY, JANUARY 10, 2019 | 6PM SUNNYVALE CITY HALL | WEST CONFERENCE ROOM 456 WEST OLIVE AVE | SUNNYVALE, CA 94088

Cities Association of Santa Clara County President Manny Cappello (Saratoga) called the meeting to order at 6:05 PM and welcomed the new City Selection Committee Members. Introductions were made as the Selection Committee has many new members.

Present:

Campbell: Councilmember Paul Resnikoff **Cupertino: Councilmember Rod Sinks** Gilroy: Mayor Roland Velasco Los Altos: Mayor Lynette Lee Eng Los Altos Hills: absent Los Gatos: Councilmember Marico Sayoc Milpitas: Anthony Phan Monte Sereno: Councilmember Javed Ellahie Morgan Hill: absent Mountain View: Mayor Lisa Matichak Palo Alto: Mayor Eric Filseth San José: Councilmember Chappie Jones Santa Clara: Councilmember Debi Davis Saratoga: Mayor Manny Cappello Sunnyvale: Mayor Larry Klein Executive Director: Andi Jordan

#### **Others present:**

Councilmember Liz Kniss, Palo Alto Councilmember John McAlister, Mountain View Councilmember Jeannie Bruins, Los Altos Councilmember Lydia Kou, Palo Alto Councilmember Nancy Smith, Sunnyvale Mayor Steven Scharff, Cupertino

Consent Agenda consisting of *Meeting Minutes: November 8, 2018*, were approved with a motion from Mayor Larry Klein, second from Debi Davis. Unanimously approved with 2 abstentions.

Ayes 12- Nos – 0 – Absent 2 – Abstentions 2 AYES: Resnikoff, Sinks, Velasco, Sayoc, Phan, Ellahie, Filseth, Jones, Davis, Cappello, Klein NOs – none Absent – Los Altos Hills, Morgan Hill Abstentions – Lee Eng, Matichak

Appointments:

# a. Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) - Alternate 2 Seats

Interest was received from Councilmember Liz Kniss (Palo Alto) & Councilmember Rod Sinks (Cupertino). Councilmember Debi Davis motion, second from Marico Sayoc seconded the appointment of Liz Kniss & Rod Sinks as ABAG alternates term expires 6/2020. The motion passed unanimously.

Ayes 13 – Nos – O – Absent – 2 (Ayes - Resnikoff, Sinks, Velasco, Sayoc, Phan, Ellahie, Matichak, Filseth, Jones, Davis, Cappello, Klein, Lee Eng, Nos – none Absent – Morgan Hill, Los Altos Hills

## b. Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) - Commissioner

Seat is currently held by Councilmember Jeannie Bruins, Los Altos. Councilmember John McAlister (Mountain View) and Councilmember Jeannie Bruins (Los Altos) expressed Interest. A roll call vote was taken and Jeannie Bruins (Los Altos was reappointed, term expires term expires 2/2023

McAlister (6 votes): Bruins (7 votes)

Votes for Councilmember McAlister: Sinks, Velasco, Ellahie, Matichak, Filseth, Lee Eng Votes for Councilmember Bruins: Resnikoff, Sayoc, Tran, Jones, Davis, Cappello, Klein

## c. Santa Clara County Local Board: Cal-Id/RAN

Mayor Larry Klein (Sunnyvale) expressed interest in the Cal-Id/Ran appointed. Councilmember Davis motioned to appoint Mayor Klein, second from Councilmember Jones. was appointed, ongoing appointment. Motion carried unanimously. (Ayes: 13, Nos: 0, Absent: 2) Ayes: 13 (Resnikoff, Sinks, Velasco, Sayoc, Phan, Ellahie, Matichak, Filseth, Jones, Davis, Cappello, Klein, Lee Eng) Nos: 0 Absent: 2 (Morgan Hill, Los Altos Hills)

## d. Santa Clara County Emergency Operational Area Council (OAC)- Alternate

Interest received from Councilmember Lydia Kou (Palo Alto) to represent North County Cities seat with a term expiring 12/2020. Councilmember Marico Sayoc motioned for Councilmember Kou's appointment as Alternate, second by Mayor Lee Eng. Motion carried unanimously.

(Ayes: 13, Nos: 0, Absent: 2) Ayes: 13 (Resnikoff, Sinks, Velasco, Sayoc, Phan, Ellahie, Matichak, Filseth, Jones, Davis, Cappello, Klein, Lee Eng) Nos: 0 Absent: 2 (Morgan Hill, Los Altos Hills)

e. <u>Recycling & Waste Reduction Commission of Santa Clara County (RWRC)</u>

#### Member-at-Large

Interest received from Councilmember Anthony Phan (Milpitas) with a term expiring 1/2022. Councilmember Sayoc motioned for appointment of Councilmember Phan, second received from Councilmember Jones. Motion to appoint Councilmember Phan approved unanimously. (Ayes: 13, Nos: 0, Absent: 2) Ayes: 13 (Resnikoff, Sinks, Velasco, Sayoc, Phan, Ellahie, Matichak, Filseth, Jones, Davis, Cappello, Klein, Lee Eng) Nos: 0 Absent: 2 (Morgan Hill, Los Altos Hills)

Smart Station RWRC, seat representing Palo Alto, Mountain View, Sunnyvale: Councilmember Nancy Smith (Sunnyvale) expressed interest in the position with a term expiring 1/2022. Councilmember Davis motioned for Councilmember Smith's appointment. Second received from Councilmember Sayoc. Motion was approved unanimously. (Ayes: 13, Nos: 0, Absent: 2) Ayes: 13 (Resnikoff, Sinks, Velasco, Sayoc, Phan, Ellahie, Matichak, Filseth, Jones, Davis, Cappello, Klein, Lee Eng) Nos: 0 Absent: 2 (Morgan Hill, Los Altos Hills)

## f. Women's Equality 2020 Leadership Council (Santa Clara County)

Interest was received from Councilmember Nancy Smith (Sunnyvale) for the Ex-Officio seat, for 10 meetings from November 14, 2018 through December 2020. Councilmember Matichak and Councilmember Davis motioned for appointment of Councilmember Smith. Councilmember Sinks seconded the motion. Councilmember Smith was appointed unanimously. (Ayes: 13, Nos: 0, Absent: 2) Ayes: 13 (Resnikoff, Sinks, Velasco, Sayoc, Phan, Ellahie, Matichak, Filseth, Jones, Davis, Cappello, Klein, Lee Eng) Nos: 0 Absent: 2 (Morgan Hill, Los Altos Hills)

Public Comment: no public comment was received.

President/Mayor Manny Cappello adjourned the meeting at 7:01 PM

Respectfully submitted,

Andi Jordan Executive Director, Cities Association of Santa Clara County

Date Minutes approved: April 11, 2019

Motion approved by unanimous consensus.

AYES:	13 (Resnikoff/Campbell, Sinks/Cupertino, Lee Eng/Los Altos, Wu/Los Altos Hills, Rennie/Los Gatos, Tran/Milpitas, Turner/Monte Sereno, Constantine/Morgan Hill, Matichak/Mountain View, Filseth/Palo Alto, Jones/San José, Davis/Santa Clara, Cappello/Saratoga, Klein/Sunnyvale
NOS:	0
ABSTENTIONS:	0
ABSENT:	2 (Campbell/Resnik off, Gilroy/Velasco)