

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Suite 800 San Francisco, CA 94105 415.778.6700



Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Suite 700 San Francisco, CA 94105 415.820.7900

April 8, 2019

Clarification on Appointments to ABAG/MTC Housing Legislation Working Group

On February 28, 2019, we wrote you inviting each county's Board of Supervisors to appoint one county representative and each county's City Selection Committee to appoint two city representatives to a newly created ABAG/MTC Housing Legislation Working Group (Working Group) that is intended to provide timely feedback to the Joint ABAG/MTC Legislation Committee, the ABAG Executive Board and MTC Commission as they consider positions on numerous housing bills now before the state legislature.

At the end of that February 28th memo, we told you that appointments to the Working Group "will be ratified by the ABAG Executive Board and the Metropolitan Transportation Commission at their March meetings". A review of both agencies' procedures do not require such ratification for working groups. Further, through the letter we designated the authority to each county's Board of Supervisors and City Selection Committee for 27 of the members. Therefore, in light of this information and to get members seated as soon as possible, once a county's Board of Supervisors or City Selection Committee nominates someone to serve on the ABAG/MTC Housing Legislation Working Group, that person automatically becomes a member of the Working Group. We will continue to notify the ABAG Executive Board and MTC Commission of these appointments but no ratification by either governing board is required.

We apologize for any confusion this misunderstanding may have caused for the individuals nominated by their Boards of Supervisors and City Selection Committees prior to our initial Working Group meeting on April 5th. Going forward, those nominated will immediately be seated on the Working Group. We are grateful to all who are committing their time to this important effort.

Sincerely,

David Rabbitt

Association of Bay Area Governments

Scott Haggerty

Chair

Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Clarification on Appointments to ABAG/MTC Housing Legislation Working Group

April 8, 2019

Page 2

Distribution:

County of Alameda, Board of Supervisors
County of Contra Costa, Board of Supervisors
County of Marin, Board of Supervisors
County of Napa, Board of Supervisors
City and County of San Francisco, Board of Supervisors
County of San Mateo, Board of Supervisors
County of Santa Clara, Board of Supervisors
County of Solano, Board of Supervisors
County of Solano, Board of Supervisors
County of Sonoma, Board of Supervisors

Alameda County Mayors Conference
Contra Costa County Mayors Conference
Marin County City Selection Committee
Napa County City Selection Committee
City and County of San Francisco--Mayor
San Mateo County City Selection Committee
Cities Association of Santa Clara County
Solano County City Selection Committee
Sonoma County Mayors and Councilmembers Association

Housing Legislative Working Group

ABAG Executive Board

Metropolitan Transportation Commission