

## LEGISLATIVE ACTION COMMITTEE MINUTES THURSDAY, AUGUST 8, 2019 | 5:30 PM CITY OF SUNNYVALE | WEST CONFERENCE ROOM 456 WEST OLIVE | SUNNYVALE, CA 94088

1. Meeting called to order by Legislative Action Committee Chair Margaret Abe-Koga at 5:30 PM.

Members present:

city	name
Campbell	Paul Resnikoff
Cupertino	Rod Sinks
Gilroy	Peter Leroe-Muñoz
Los Altos	Anita Enander
Los Altos Hills	absent
Los Gatos	Marico Sayoc
Milpitas	Carmen Montano
Monte Sereno	Rowena Turner
Morgan Hill	absent
Mountain View	Margaret Abe-Koga
Palo Alto	Lydia Kou
San José	Chappie Jones
Santa Clara	Debi Davis
Saratoga	Manny Cappello 5:40 pm
Sunnyvale	Gustav Larsson

Also present: Andi Jordan, Executive Director Councilmember Chris Clark (Mountain View) via teleconference Mayor Steven Scharf (Cupertino) Mayor Lynette Lee Eng (Los Altos) Gary Schmid, Palo Alto Suzanne Keehn, Palo Alto Councilmember Michael Goldman (Sunnyvale) Another citizen from Cupertino 2. Consent Agenda: Approval of June 2019 Legislative Action Committee Minutes with changes with a motion by Councilmember Enander and a second by Councilmember Sayoc.

Motion passes: AYES-11 NAYES-0, ABSTENTIONS-2, ABSENT-2 AYES: Resnikoff (Campbell), Enander (Los Altos), Sayoc (Los Gatos) Montano (Milpitas), Turner (Monte Sereno), Constantine (Morgan Hill), Abe-Koga (Mountain View), Kou (Palo Alto), Jones (San José), Cappello (Saratoga), Larsson (Sunnyvale) NAYES: 0 ABSTENTIONS: 0 Sinks (Cupertino), Leroe-Muñoz (Gilroy ABSENT: 2 Davis (Santa Clara), Wu (Los Altos Hills)

- 3. Legislative discussion and or action on bills:
  - a. AB 1487 discussion with ABAG Executive Committee Members: Councilmember Chris Clark (Mountain View) Motion by Margaret Abe-Koga to remove opposition from AB 1487. Motion seconded by Gustav Larsson.
    Motion passes: 7 AYES, 3 NAYES, 2 ABSTENTIONS, 3 ABSENT AYES: 7 Leroe-Muñoz (Gilroy), Resnikoff (Campbell), Larsson (Sunnyvale), Jones (San José), Cappello (Saratoga), Abe-Koga (Mountain View), Montano (Milpitas) NAYES: 3 Enander (Los Altos), Sinks (Cupertino), Kou (Palo Alto) ABSTENTIONS: 0 ABSENT: Constantine (Morgan Hill), Wu (Los Altos Hills), Davis (Santa Clara)
  - b. SB 592

Motion by Councilmember Anita Enander (Los Altos) to oppose SB 592. Second by Councilmember Lydia Kou (Palo Alto).

## Motion passes 9-0-3-3

AYES: Leroe-Muñoz (Gilroy), Resnikoff (Campbell), Abe-Koga (Mountain View), Montano (Milpitas), Enander (Los Altos), Sinks (Cupertino), Kou (Palo Alto), Turner (Monte Sereno), Sayoc (Los Gatos NAYES:

ABSTENTION: Jones (San José) Cappello (Saratoga), Larsson (Sunnyvale), ABSENT: 3 Constantine (Morgan Hill), Wu (Los Altos Hills), Davis (Santa Clara)

- 4. Discussion regarding lobbyist, to understand which cities currently contract and which cities are considering contracting and whether the Legislative Committee would like to consider lobbyist or other activities to further the Association's goals.
  - a. Cities who currently contract:
    - i. Cupertino
    - ii. San José\*
    - iii. Palo Alto\*

LEGISLATIVE ACTION COMMITTEE MINUTES AUGUST 8, 2019 Page 3 of 3

- b. Who is hiring:
  - i. Santa Clara
- c. Who is considering:
  - i. Los Altos
  - ii. Sunnyvale
  - iii. Mountain View
  - iv. Milpitas
- 5. Members tentatively scheduled a committee meeting for September.
- 6. Public Comment:
  - a. Greg Schmid, Palo Alto, spoke on Plan Bay Area 2050.
  - b. Suzanne Keehn, Palo Alto spoke on Plan Bay Area 2050.
  - c. Rahul, Cupertino spoke on AB 1487 and Plan Bay Area 2050.
  - d. Mayor Lynette Lee Eng (Los Altos) spoke on Agenda Item 4, discussion on lobbyist.
  - e. Councilmember Michael Goldman (Sunnyvale) spoke on housing imbalance/Plan Bay Area.
  - f. Mayor Steven Scharf spoke about AB 1484

Respectfully submitted, Andi Jordan Executive Director

Minutes approved on November 14, 2019

Motion to approve with noted changes by Mayor Capello (Saratoga) Second Councilmember Enander (Los Altos)

Minutes approved 12-0-0-3

AYES: Resnikoff (Campbell), Sinks (Cupertino), Enander (Los Altos), Wu (Los Altos Hills), Turner (Monte Sereno), Kou (Palo Alto), Jones (San José), Davis (Santa Clara), Cappello (Saratoga), Larsson (Sunnyvale) NAYES: 0 ABSTENTIONS: 0 ABSENT: 0