

CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MINUTES THURSDAY, JANUARY 9, 2020 6:40 PM OR IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING LEGISLATIVE ACTION COMMITTEE CITY OF SUNNYVALE | WEST CONFERENCE ROOM 456 WEST OLIVE | SUNNYVALE, CA 94088

Discussion & action may be taken on any of the following items.

1. Welcome & Roll Call by Cities Association of Santa Clara County President/Mayor Larry Klein (Sunnyvale).

Present:

Campbell - Liz Gibbons

Cupertino - Rod Sinks

Gilroy – absent

Los Altos - Neysa Fligor

Los Altos Hills - Michelle Wu

Los Gatos – absent

Milpitas - Carmen Montano

Monte Sereno - Rowena Turner

Morgan Hill - Rich Constantine

Mountain View - Margaret Abe-Koga

Palo Alto - Liz Kniss

San José - absent

Santa Clara - absent

Saratoga - Manny Cappello

Sunnyvale - Larry Klein

Executive Director – Andi Jordan

Also Present:

Kent Steffens

Adina Levin

2. Consideration of approval of consent agenda consisting of the September 12, 2019 Minutes. Motion to approve the consent agenda consisting of the September 12, 2019 minutes.

Motion: Rich Constantine (Morgan Hill)

Second: Rod Sinks (Cupertino)

Motion passes Unanimously 11-0-0-4

AYES – 11 Gibbons (Campbell), Sinks (Cupertino), Fligor (Los Altos), Wu (Los Altos Hills),

Montano (Milpitas), Turner (Monte Sereno), Abe-Koga (Mountain View), Kniss (Palo Alto),

Cappello (Saratoga), Klein (Sunnyvale)

NAYES - 0

ABSTENTIONS -

ABSENT – Tucker (Gilroy), Sayoc (Los Gatos), Jones (San José), Davis (Santa Clara)

- 3. Consideration of appointment to the Santa Clara Recycling & Waste Reduction Division (RWRC):
 - South County (Gilroy, Morgan Hill)
 - Term Expires 12/23 (previously served by Hon. Cat Tucker, Gilroy, who is termed out)

No nominations were received. No action taken.

- 4. Consideration of appointment to Bay Area Air Quality District (BAAQMD):
 - Term Expires 3/2022 (currently held by Hon. Liz Kniss, Palo Alto)
 - The term is a two-year term and will begin April 2020 and run until March 2022.

Motion to re-appoint Palo Alto Councilmember Liz Kniss to BAAQMD.

Motion: Councilmember Manny Cappello (Saratoga)

Second: Councilmember Carmen Montano (Milpitas)

Unanimously approved 11-0-0-4

AYES – 11 Gibbons (Campbell), Sinks (Cupertino), Fligor (Los Altos), Wu (Los Altos Hills),

Montano (Milpitas), Turner (Monte Sereno), Abe-Koga (Mountain View), Kniss (Palo Alto),

Cappello (Saratoga), Klein (Sunnyvale)

NAYES - 0

- 5. Consideration of appointment to Santa Clara County Emergency Operation Area Council (EOAC):
 - North County (Palo Alto, Mountain View, Los Altos, Los Altos Hills): recently held by Hon. Lisa Matichak who resigned this position.
 - Term: Expires in 6/2020

No nominations were received. No action taken.

- 6. Public comment no public comment was given
- 7. Meeting adjourned at 6:55 PM.

Respectfully submitted, Andi Jordan Executive Director

Approved on Thursday, February 13, 2020

Motion to approve (with attendance edits): Sinks (Cupertino)

Second: Gibbons (Campbell)

Motion approved 11-0-1-3

AYES: 11 – Gibbons (Campbell), Sinks (Cupertino), Fligor (Los Altos), Wu (Los Altos Hills), Sayoc (Los Gatos), Montano (Milpitas), Constantine (Morgan Hill), Kniss (Palo Alto), Jones (San José), Davis (Santa Clara), Larsson (Sunnyvale)

City Selection Committee Meeting Minutes January 9, 2020 Page 3 of 3

NAYES: 0

ABSTENTIONS: 1 – Bernald (Saratoga)

ABSENT: 3 - Tucker (Gilroy), Turner (Monte Sereno), Abe-Koga (Mountain View)