

LEGISLATIVE ACTION COMMITTEE MINUTES THURSDAY, JANUARY 9, 2020 | 6:00 PM CITY OF SUNNYVALE | WEST CONFERENCE ROOM 456 WEST OLIVE | SUNNYVALE, CA 94088

1. Vice Mayor Neysa Fligor, Chair, called the meeting to order at 6:03 PM.

Present:

Campbell – Liz Gibbons
Cupertino - Rod Sinks
Gilroy – absent
Los Altos - Neysa Fligor
Los Altos Hills - Michelle Wu
Los Gatos – absent
Milpitas - Carmen Montano
Monte Sereno - Rowena Turner
Morgan Hill – absent
Mountain View – Margaret Abe-Koga
Palo Alto - Liz Kniss
San José - absent
Santa Clara - absent
Saratoga - Manny Cappello

Also in attendance:
Adina Levin –
Mayor Larry Klein – Sunnyvale
Kent Steffens – CM, Sunnyvale

Sunnyvale – Gustav Larsson Executive Director – Andi Jordan

2. Consent Agenda: November 14, 2020 Legislative Action Committee Minutes was approved unanimously.

Motion: Montano (Milpitas) Second: Gibbons (Campbell)

AYES: Gibbons (Campbell), Sinks (Cupertino), Fligor (Los Altos), Wu (Los Altos Hills), Montano (Milpitas), Turner (Monte Sereno), Abe-Koga (Mountain View), Kniss (Palo Alto), Cappello (Saratoga), Larsson (Sunnyvale)

NOS:

ABSTENTIONS:

ABSENT: Tucker (Gilroy), Sayoc (Los Gatos), Constantine (Morgan Hill), Jones (San José), Davis (Santa Clara)

- **3.** Legislative Action Committee introduction and discussion (Fligor & Jordan) **no action** taken
 - Legislative Action Committee process and role with Board of Directors
 - Guiding Principles (adopted 2018)
 - Housing Priorities (adopted 2019)
 - Legislative Calendar
 - Meeting with legislators
- 4. Discussion of draft transportation priorities/guiding principles. *No action taken.*
- 5. Discussion and consideration of bills:
 - SB 50 update
 - SB 278 (FASTER)

By consensus, the committee appointed a housing sub-committee: Margaret Abe-Koga (Mountain View), Liz Gibbons (Campbell), Gustav Larsson (Sunnyvale), Liz Kniss (Palo Alto).

AYES: 10 - Gibbons (Campbell), Sinks (Cupertino), Fligor (Los Altos), Wu (Los Altos Hills), Montano (Milpitas), Turner (Monte Sereno), Abe-Koga (Mountain View), Kniss (Palo Alto), Cappello (Saratoga), Larsson (Sunnyvale)

NOS: 0

ABSTENTIONS: 0

ABSENT: 5 - Tucker (Gilroy), Sayoc (Los Gatos), Constantine (Morgan Hill), Jones (San José), Davis (Santa Clara)

- 6. Public Comment no public comment was received.
- 7. Adjournment until February 13, 2020.

Respectfully submitted, Andi Jordan Executive Director Meeting Minutes approved on Thursday, May 14, 2020

Motion to approve consent agenda: Liz Gibbons (Campbell)

Second: Chappie Jones (San José)

Motion approved 13-0-0-2

AYES: 13 Gibbons, (Campbell), Scharf (Cupertino), Blankley (Gilroy), Fligor (Los Altos), Wu (Los Altos Hills), Sayoc (Los Gatos), Turner (Monte Sereno), Abe-Koga (Mountain View), Kniss (Palo Alto), Jones (San José), Davis (Santa Clara), Bernald (Saratoga), Larsson (Sunnyvale)

NOS: 0

ABSTENTIONS: 0

ABSENT: 2 Montano (Milpitas), Constantine (Morgan Hill)