

#### CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 13, 2020 6:50 PM OR IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING LEGISLATIVE ACTION COMMITTEE CITY OF SUNNYVALE | WEST CONFERENCE ROOM 456 WEST OLIVE | SUNNYVALE, CA 94088

Discussion & action may be taken on any of the following items.

1. Welcome & Roll Call (Sayoc)

6:50 PM

- 2. Consideration of approval of consent agenda consisting of the January 9, 2020 Minutes
- 3. Consideration of appointment to the Santa Clara Recycling & Waste Reduction Division (RWRC):
  - South County (Gilroy, Morgan Hill)
  - Term Expires 12/23 (previously served by Hon. Cat Tucker, Gilroy, who is termed out)

#### Interest received from Gilroy Council Member Fred Tovar.

- 4. Public comment
- 5. Adjourn until next meeting, TBD.

6:57 PM



### CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MINUTES THURSDAY, JANUARY 9, 2020 6:40 PM OR IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING LEGISLATIVE ACTION COMMITTEE CITY OF SUNNYVALE | WEST CONFERENCE ROOM 456 WEST OLIVE | SUNNYVALE, CA 94088

Discussion & action may be taken on any of the following items.

1. Welcome & Roll Call by Cities Association of Santa Clara County President/Mayor Larry Klein (Sunnyvale).

Present: Campbell - Liz Gibbons **Cupertino - Rod Sinks** Gilroy – absent Los Altos - Neysa Fligor Los Altos Hills - Michelle Wu Los Gatos – absent Milpitas - Carmen Montano Monte Sereno - Rowena Turner Morgan Hill – absent Mountain View - Margaret Abe-Koga Palo Alto - Liz Kniss San José - absent Santa Clara - absent Saratoga - Manny Cappello Sunnyvale – Gustav Larsson Executive Director – Andi Jordan

Also Present: Kent Steffens Adina Levin

2. Consideration of approval of consent agenda consisting of the September 12, 2019 Minutes. Motion to approve the consent agenda consisting of the September 12, 2019 minutes.

Motion: Rich Constantine (Morgan Hill) Second: Rod Sinks (Cupertino) Motion passes Unanimously 11-0-0-4 AYES – 11 Gibbons (Campbell), Sinks (Cupertino), Fligor (Los Altos), Wu (Los Altos Hills), Montano (Milpitas), Turner (Monte Sereno), Abe-Koga (Mountain View), Kniss (Palo Alto), Cappello (Saratoga), Klein (Sunnyvale) NAYES – 0 ABSTENTIONS - ABSENT - Tucker (Gilroy), Sayoc (Los Gatos), Jones (San José), Davis (Santa Clara)

- 3. Consideration of appointment to the Santa Clara Recycling & Waste Reduction Division (RWRC):
  - South County (Gilroy, Morgan Hill)
  - Term Expires 12/23 (previously served by Hon. Cat Tucker, Gilroy, who is termed out)

No nominations were received. No action taken.

- 4. Consideration of appointment to Bay Area Air Quality District (BAAQMD):
  - Term Expires 3/2022 (currently held by Hon. Liz Kniss, Palo Alto)
  - The term is a two-year term and will begin April 2020 and run until March 2022.

Motion to re-appoint Palo Alto Councilmember Liz Kniss to BAAQMD. Motion: Councilmember Manny Cappello (Saratoga) Second: Councilmember Carmen Montano (Milpitas) Unanimously approved 11-0-0-4 AYES – 11 Gibbons (Campbell), Sinks (Cupertino), Fligor (Los Altos), Wu (Los Altos Hills), Montano (Milpitas), Turner (Monte Sereno), Abe-Koga (Mountain View), Kniss (Palo Alto), Cappello (Saratoga), Klein (Sunnyvale) NAYES – 0

- 5. Consideration of appointment to Santa Clara County Emergency Operation Area Council (EOAC):
  - North County (Palo Alto, Mountain View, Los Altos, Los Altos Hills): recently held by Hon. Lisa Matichak who resigned this position.
  - Term: Expires in 6/2020

No nominations were received. No action taken.

- 6. Public comment no public comment was given
- 7. Meeting adjourned at 6:55 PM.

Respectfully submitted, Andi Jordan Executive Director

Approved on DATE

MOTION SECOND AYES: NAYES: ABSENTIONS: ABSENT:

# **County of Santa Clara**

Recycling and Waste Reduction Commission of Santa Clara County Recycling and Waste Reduction Division

1555 Berger Drive, Building 2, Suite 300 San Jose, CA 95112-2716 (408) 282-3180 FAX (408) 280-6479 www.ReduceWaste.org



## Recycling and Waste Reduction Commission of Santa Clara County JOB DESCRIPTION

Authority:	The Recycling and Waste Reduction Commission is the principal advisory body to city councils and the Board of Supervisors on countywide solid waste planning issues and the Countywide Integrated Waste Management Plan.
Meetings: Term of	Last Monday of even numbered months at 5:30 p.m. (February, April, June, August, October and December)
Appointment:	<ul> <li>The term of office of each commission member shall be six years and the number of terms shall be limited to two terms.</li> <li>North County Cities representative: One city council member from Cupertino, Los Altos or Los Altos Hills</li> <li>West Valley Cities representative: One city council member from Campbell, Los Gatos, Monte Sereno or Saratoga</li> <li>Central County Cities representative: One city council member from Milpitas or Santa Clara</li> <li>SMaRT Station Cities representative: One city council member from Mountain View, Palo Alto or Sunnyvale</li> <li>South County Cities representative: One city council member from Gilroy or Morgan Hill</li> <li>Member-at-large: Two city council members to serve as members-at-large. Members-at-large shall be drawn from any city that does not already have a representative on the commission.</li> </ul>
Attendance:	Three consecutive absences are sufficient grounds to warrant the Chairperson to request a replacement.
Reporting Requirements:	City Selection appointees present quarterly written reports to the Board of Directors of the Cities Association regarding relevant activities. One appointee of the Committee is also required to report to the Board of Directors of the Cities Association at least one a regularly scheduled meeting during the course of each year. Committee members will also be expected to report to the specific cities they represent.
For More Information:	William "Bill" Grimes, Program Manager (408) 918-1967 Lisa Rose, Staff to RWR Commission (408) 282-3166