

Legislative Action Committee Meeting Minutes

June 10, 2021 6:00 PM / Virtual Meeting via Zoom

Meeting recording available on YouTube [LINK]

Agenda in black/Minutes in blue

Board Members

Chair: Hon. Rich Constantine, Morgan Hill

Campbell	Hon. Elizabeth "Liz" Gibbons / Alternate: Hon. Anne Bybee	
Cupertino	Hon. Liang Chao / Alternate: Hon. Darcy Paul	
Gilroy	Hon. Marie Blankley / Alternate: Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz	
Los Altos	Hon. Neysa Fligor / Alternate: Hon. Anita Enander	
Los Altos Hills	Hon. Stanley Mok / Alternate: Hon. Lisa Schmidt	
Los Gatos	Hon. Marico Sayoc / Alternate: Hon. Rob Rennie	
Milpitas Hon. Carmen Montaño / Alternate: Hon. Evelyn Cl		
Monte Sereno	Monte Sereno Hon. Rowena Turner / Alternate: Hon. Liz Lawler	
Morgan Hill Hon. Rich Constantine / Alternate: Hon. John McKay		
Mountain View Hon. Ellen Kamei / Alternate: Hon. Lucas Ramirez		
Palo Alto	Hon. Tom DuBois / Alternate: Hon. Eric Filseth	
San Jose	Hon. Chappie Jones / Alternate: Hon. Matt Mahan	
Santa Clara	Hon. Kathy Watanabe / Alternate: Hon. Anthony Becker	
Saratoga	Hon. Yan Zhao / Alternate: Hon. Tina Walia	
Sunnyvale	Hon. Gustave Larsson / Alternate: Hon. Alyssa Cisneros	

WELCOME AND ROLL CALL (Constantine)

Members present:

Gibbons, Chao, Blankley, Fligor, Mok, Sayoc, Montano, Turner, Constantine, Kamei, DuBois, Jones, Zhao, Larsson

Members absent:

Watanabe

Others in attendance:

- Andi Jordan, Executive Director
- Audin Leung, Board Clerk
- Kat Wellman, Counsel
- Joshua Ishimatsu, San José Housing Department
- Bena Chang, Silicon Valley Clean Energy
- Melicia Charles, Silicon Valley Clean Energy
- Raania Mohsen, Office of Vice Mayor Chappie Jones
- Roland Lebrun, Member of the Public
- Walter C. Rossman, Finance Director, City of Milpitas
- Tina Walia, Saratoga City Councilmember
- Hung Wei, Cupertino City Councilmember
- Anita Enander, Los Altos City Councilmember
- Paul Peninger, Baird + Driskell Planning
- Jonathan Weinberg, Los Altos City Councilmember
- Mary-Lynne Bernald, Saratoga City Councilmember
- Gary Baum, Prospective Counsel
- Mike Wasserman, Santa Clara County Supervisor, District 1
- Christine Stavem, Chief of Staff, Santa Clara County District 1

1.	Consent Agenda
	Motion to approve consent agenda by Jones. Seconded by Gibbons. Motion adopted 14-0-0-1
	AYES (14): Gibbons, Chao, Blankley, Fligor, Mok, Sayoc, Montano, Turner, Constantine, Kamei, DuBois, Jones, Zhao, Larsson NAYES (0) ABSTENSIONS (0) ABSENCES (1): Watanabe

	Approval of April Legislative Action Committee Meeting Minutes
2.	Consideration of Bills and Actions Before the California State Legislature
2a.	 <u>SB 612 (Portantino)</u> Electrical corporations and other load-serving entities: allocation of legacy resources Presentation from Melicia Charles, Silicon Valley Clean Energy
	Motion to support SB 612 by Larsson. Seconded by Fligor. Motion adopted 14-0-0-1
	AYES (14) Gibbons, Chao, Blankley, Fligor, Mok, Sayoc, Montano, Turner, Constantine, Kamei, DuBois, Jones, Zhao, Larsson NAYES (0) ABSTENSIONS (0) ABSENCES (1) Watanabe
	Tina Walia gave comment on item 2a.
2b.	 <u>SB 649 (Cortese)</u> Local governments: affordable housing: local tenant preference Request from Racial Justice Committee to Support Presentation from Joshua Ishimatsu, San José Housing Department Motion to take "watch" position on SB 649. Seconded by Montaño.
	Motion adopted 14-0-0-1 AYES (14) Gibbons, Chao, Blankley, Fligor, Mok, Sayoc, Montano, Turner, Constantine, Kamei, DuBois, Jones, Zhao, Larsson NAYES (0) ABSTENSIONS (0) ABSENCES (1) Watanabe
2c.	<u>SB 9 (Atkins, Caballero, Rubio, and Wiener)</u> Housing development: approvals
	Tina Walia gave comment on item 2c.
2d.	AB 1401 (Friedman) Residential and commercial development: parking requirements

٦

Motion to oppose SB 9 and AB1401 by Constantine. Seconded by Mok. Motion adopted 12-0-2-1

AYES (12) Gibbons, Chao, Blankley, Mok, Sayoc, Montano, Turner, Constantine, DuBois, Jones, Zhao, Larsson NAYES (0) ABSTENSIONS (2) Fligor, Kamei

ABSENCES (1) Watanabe

Roland Lebrun gave comment on item 2d.

- 2e. <u>2021-22 State Budget Request for California Cities</u>
- 2f. <u>AB 1091 (Berman)</u> Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority: board of directors
 - Discussion and consideration of member survey requesting member interest to work with Assemblymember Berman on modifications to the bill
- 2g. Other bills as requested by members to be considered at later date

Public Comment

Roland Lebrun gave comment.

ADJOURNMENT

Respectfully submitted,

Audin Leung Board Clerk

Minutes approved via consent agenda on November 11, 2021.

Cities Association of Santa Clara County Legislative Action Committee Meeting Minutes June 10, 2021

Motion to adopt consent agenda was by Jones and seconded by Watanabe. Motion was adopted 10-0-0-4.

AYES (10) Gibbons, Chao, Blankley, Mok, Sayoc, Turner, Constantine, Ramirez, Jones, Watanabe NAYES (0) ABSTENSIONS (0) ABSENCES (4) Fligor, Montano, DuBois, Larsson