

Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

November 11, 2021 7:00 PM / Virtual Meeting via Zoom

Meeting recording available on YouTube [LINK]

Minutes in blue / Agenda in black

Board Members

Chair: Hon. Marico Sayoc, Los Gatos

Campbell Hon. Anne Bybee / Alternate: Hon. Susan Landry
Cupertino Hon. Liang Chao / Alternate: Hon. Kitty Moore

Gilroy Hon. Marie Blankley / Alternate: Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz

Los Altos
Los Altos Hon. Neysa Fligor / Alternate: Hon. Anita Enander
Los Altos Hills
Los Gatos
Hon. Stanley Mok / Alternate: Hon. Lisa Schmidt
Hon. Marico Sayoc / Alternate: Hon. Rob Rennie
Milpitas
Hon. Carmen Montaño / Alternate: Hon. Evelyn Chua
Monte Sereno
Hon. Rowena Turner / Alternate: Hon. Liz Lawler
Hon. Rich Constantine / Alternate: Hon. John McKay
Mountain View
Hon. Margaret Abe-Koga / Alternate: Hon. Ellen Kamei

Palo Alto

Hon. Tom DuBois / Alternate: Hon. Eric Filseth

Hon. Chappie Jones / Alternate: Hon. Matt Mahan

Santa Clara

Hon. Kathy Watanabe / Alternate: Hon. Anthony Becker

Saratoga Hon. Yan Zhao / Alternate: Hon. Tina Walia Sunnyvale Hon. Larry Klein / Alternate: Hon. Mason Fong Discussion & action may be taken on any of the items below. Times are approximate.

WELCOME AND ROLL CALL – (Sayoc, 7:00 PM)

Members present: Bybee, Chao, Blankley, Fligor, Mok, Sayoc, Turner, Constantine, Abe-Koga, Jones, Watanabe, Walia (alternate), Klein

Absent: Montano, DuBois

Others in attendance:

- Andi Jordan, Executive Director
- Laurel Prevetti, SCCCMA Representative and Town Manager of Los Gatos
- Gary Baum, Counsel
- Audin Leung, Clerk
- Steve Preminger, County of Santa Clara Strategic
- Dave Vautin, Bay Area Metro
- Alysa Cisneros, Councilmember, City of Sunnyvale
- Roland Lebrun, Member of the Public
- Liz Gibbons, Mayor, City of Campbell

1. Consent Agenda

Motion to adopt consent agenda by Fligor. Seconded by Abe-Koga. Motion adopted 12-0-1-2.

AYES (12): Bybee, Chao, Blankley, Fligor, Mok, Sayoc, Turner, Constantine, Abe-

Koga, Jones, Watanabe, Klein

NAYES (0)

ABSTENSIONS (1): Walia

ABSENCES (2): Montano, DuBois

- 1a. Approval of October Board of Directors Meeting Minutes
- 1b. Receive October financial statement (Note: reviewed by Treasurer)

- 1c. Approval of invoices to be paid
 - Environmental Science Associates \$5,670 for YTD total of 168,372.50
 - Logan & Powell \$3,520 (invoice available to members upon request)

2. Plan Bay Area 2050 (Bay Area Metro Staff Invited)

Roland Lebrun gave comment on this item.

3. MTC City Selection Committee Appointee Presentation (Abe-Koga)

Roland Lebrun gave comment on this item.

4. FY'22 Budget Update and Possible Amendments

Motion by Jones to follow approach recommended by the Executive Board:

- If the SCSC Roundtable decision at their November 11, 2021 meeting leaves a remaining balance of expenditures to be reimbursed, direct the Executive Director and President to assess the SCSC Roundtable member cities.
- Should there be a continued balance of SCSC Roundtable expenditures to be reimbursed after the assessment of SCSC Roundtable member cities, then assess the CASCC member cities in the first quarter of 2022.

Seconded by Klein.

Motion adopted 10-1-2-2.

AYES (10): Bybee, Chao, Blankley, Fligor, Sayoc, Constantine, Abe-Koga, Jones,

Watanabe, Klein

NAYES (1): Turner

ABSTENSIONS (2): Mok, Walia

ABSENCES (2): DuBois, Montano

5. Election of Officers

Motion by Sayoc to elect the following members into office:

- President Hon. Chappie Jones
- 1st Vice President and LAC Chair Hon. Neysa Fligor
- 2nd Vice President Hon. Margaret Abe-Koga
- Secretary-Treasurer Hon. Rich Constantine

• Past President – Hon. Marico Sayoc

Seconded by Klein. Motion adopted 13-0-0-2.

AYES (13): Bybee, Chao, Blankley, Fligor, Mok, Sayoc, Turner, Constantine, Abe-

Koga, Jones, Watanabe, Walia, Klein

NAYES (0)

ABSTENTIONS (0)

ABSENCES (2): DuBois, Montano

- 6. Santa Clara County City Managers Association (SCCCMA) Update (Prevetti)
- 7. Executive Director Update (Jordan)
- 8. Joys and Challenges (Board Members)

PUBLIC COMMENT

Mayor Gibbons (Campbell) gave public comment.
Roland Lebrun gave public comment.
Steve Preminger gave public comment.

ADJOURNMENT

Respectfully submitted,

Audin Leung, Board Clerk