

# Cities Selection Committee Meeting Minutes

## Virtual Meeting via Zoom April 14, 2022 6:40 PM

(or immediately following adjournment of Legislative Action Committee meeting)

Meeting recording available on YouTube <a href="here">here</a>
Agenda in Black / Minutes in Red

Discussion & action may be taken on any of the items below.

## **WELCOME AND ROLL CALL (Jones)**

#### **Members present:**

Campbell	Gibbons
Cupertino	Paul
Gilroy	Leroe-Muñoz
Los Altos	Enander
Los Altos Hills	Mok
Los Gatos	Sayoc
Milpitas	Montano
Monte Sereno	Ellahie
Morgan Hill	Constantine
Mountain View	Hicks
Palo Alto	Burt
San José	Jones

Cities Association of Santa Clara County City Selection Committee Meeting Minutes April 14, 2022 Page 2 of 8

Santa Clara	Jain
Saratoga	Walia
Sunnyvale	Klein

Members absent: None

#### Others in attendance:

- Joanne Benjamin, Acting Executive Director
- Audin Leung, Clerk
- Steve Preminger, Santa Clara County Office of the County Executive
- Dr. Sara Cody, Santa Clara County Public Health Director
- Damicela Calhoun, Santa Clara County Public Health Department
- Gary Baum, Counsel
- Dr. Tomás Aragón, California Dept. of Public Health Director
- Hon. Margaret Abe-Koga, Mountain View Councilmember
- Girish Balachandran, Silicon Valley Clean Energy CEO
- Hon. Rob Rennie, Los Gatos Mayor
- Hon. Anne Bybee, Campbell Councilmember
- Hon. Yvonne Martínez Beltrán, Morgan Hill Councilmember
- Hon. Sergio Lopez, Campbell Councilmember
- Hon. Bryan Mekechuk, Monte Sereno Councilmember
- Hon. Lydia Kou, Palo Alto Councilmember
- Hon. Hung Wei, Cupertino Councilmember
- Gretchen Paule, California Dept. of Public Health
- Raania Mohsen, Office of Vice Mayor Chappie Jones
- Hon. Jonathan Weinberg, Los Altos Councilmember
- Jim Suennen, California Dept. of Public Health
- Stephen Rosenblum, member of the public
- Bena Chang, Silicon Valley Clean Energy
- Joe Beninato, member of the public

#### 1. Consent Agenda

Approval of January 13, 2022 City Selection Committee Meeting Minutes

Motion to approve consent agenda by Sayoc. Seconded by Leroe-Muñoz. Motion adopted 14-0-1-0.

Gibbons	AYE
Paul	AYE
Leroe-Muñoz	AYE
Enander	AYE
Mok	AYE
Sayoc	AYE
Montano	AYE
Ellahie	AYE
Constantine	AYE
Hicks	ABSTAIN
Burt	AYE
Jones	AYE
Jain	AYE
Walia	AYE
Klein	AYE

#### 2. Appointments

## 2a. Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG)

Appointment of two representatives

Seat 1: Current term expires June 30, 2022. New term begins July 1, 2022 and ends June 30, 2024.

Seat 2: Current term expires June 30, 2022. New term begins July 1, 2022 and ends June 30, 2024.

Current representatives are Hon. Liz Gibbons (Campbell), who is not seeking reappointment, and Hon. Neysa Fligor (Los Altos)

Motion by Jain to appoint Hon. Neysa Fligor (Los Altos) to Seat 1 and Hon. Yvonne Martínez Beltrán (Morgan Hill) to Seat 2 representing Santa Clara County cities on the Association of Bay Area Governments Executive Board. Seconded by Klein. Motion adopted 15-0-0-0.

Gibbons	AYE
GIDDOIIS	AIL
Paul	AYE
Leroe-Muñoz	AYE
Enander	AYE
Mok	AYE
Sayoc	AYE
Montano	AYE
Ellahie	AYE
Constantine	AYE
Hicks	AYE
Burt	AYE
Jones	AYE
Jain	AYE
Walia	AYE
Klein	AYE

Appointment of two alternate representatives

Seat 1: Current term expires June 30, 2022. New term begins July 1, 2022 and ends June 30, 2024.

Seat 2: Current term expires June 30, 2022. New term begins July 1, 2022 and ends June 30, 2024.

Current alternate representatives are Hon. Lucas Ramirez (Mountain View) and Hon. Yvonne Martinez Beltran (Morgan Hill)

Motion by Jain to appoint Hon. Lucas Ramirez (Mountain View) to Seat 1 and Hon. Sergio Lopez (Campbell) to Seat 2 to serve as alternate representatives for the cities of Santa Clara County on the Association of Bay Area Governments Executive Board. Seconded by Leroe-Muñoz. Motion adopted 15-0-0-0.

Gibbons	AYE
Paul	AYE
Leroe-Muñoz	AYE
Enander	AYE

Mok	AYE
Sayoc	AYE
Montano	AYE
Ellahie	AYE
Constantine	AYE
Hicks	AYE
Burt	AYE
Jones	AYE
Jain	AYE
Walia	AYE
Klein	AYE

## 2b. Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) Regional Planning Committee

Appointment of one representative

Current term expires June 2022. New term begins July 1, 2022 and ends June 30, 2024.

Current representative is Hon. Neysa Fligor (Los Altos)

Motion by Constantine to appoint Hon. Hung Wei (Cupertino) to the Association of Bay Area Governments Regional Planning Committee. Seconded by Leroe-Muñoz. Motion adopted 15-0-0-1.

Wotion adopted	
Gibbons	AYE
Paul	AYE
Leroe-Muñoz	AYE
Enander	AYE
Mok	AYE
Sayoc	ABSENT
Montano	AYE
Ellahie	AYE
Constantine	AYE
Hicks	AYE
Burt	AYE
Jones	AYE

Jain	AYE
Walia	AYE
Klein	AYE

#### 2c. Santa Clara County Emergency Operational Area Council (EOAC)

Nomination of one representative from the North County Cities (Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, Mountain View, Palo Alto)

Current term expires June 23, 2022. New two-year term begins upon appointment by the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors.

Current representative is Hon. Lydia Koh (Palo Alto)

Motion by Enander to nominate Hon. Jonathan Weinberg (Los Altos) to represent North County Cities on the Santa Clara County Emergency Operational Area Council. Seconded by Gibbons. Motion adopted 15-0-0-0.

AYE
AYE

### 2d. Bay Area Air Quality Management District (BAAQMD)

Appointment of one representative to complete term ending January 2023. Current representative, Mayor Rich Constantine (Morgan Hill), is vacating position

There were three candidates for this position: Hon. Bryan Mekechuk (Monte Sereno), Hon. Sergio Lopez (Campbell), and Hon. Yvonne Martínez Beltrán (Morgan Hill).

Per direction from the Chair, the Clerk took a roll call vote with all three candidates as options. Hon. Sergio Lopez received 8 votes, Hon. Bryan Mekechuk received 5 votes and Hon. Yvonne Martínez Beltrán received 2 votes. With the majority of votes, Hon. Sergio Lopez was appointed as representative of Santa Clara County cities to the Bay Area Air Quality Management District's Board of Directors.

## The following votes were recorded:

Gibbons	LOPEZ
Paul	LOPEZ
Leroe-Muñoz	MARTINEZ
Lei de-ividiloz	BELTRAN
Enander	LOPEZ
Mok	MEKECHUK
RENNIE	MEKECHUK
Montano	LOPEZ
Ellahie	MEKECHUK
Constantine	MARTINEZ
Constantine	BELTRAN
Hicks	LOPEZ
Burt	LOPEZ
Jones	LOPEZ
Jain	MEKECHUK
WaLopezia	MEKECHUK
Klein	LOPEZ

#### 3. Public Comment on Non-Agenda Items

There were no speakers from the public.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Respectfully submitted,

Audin Leung Board Clerk