

Board of Directors Special Meeting Minutes

June 23, 2022 7:00 PM / Virtual Meeting via Zoom

Meeting recording available on YouTube [LINK]

Minutes in Red / Agenda in Black

Board Members

President & Chair: Hon. Chappie Jones, San José

Campbell Hon. Anne Bybee / Alternate: Hon. Susan Landry
Cupertino Hon. Darcy Paul / Alternate: Hon. Liang Chao

Gilroy Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz / Alternate: Hon. Marie Blankley

Los Altos Hon. Neysa Fligor / Alternate: Hon. Anita Enander
Los Altos Hills Hon. Stanley Mok / Alternate: Hon. Lisa Schmidt
Los Gatos Hon. Rob Rennie / Alternate: Hon. Marico Sayoc
Milpitas Hon. Carmen Montaño / Alternate: Hon. Evelyn Chua
Monte Sereno Hon. Javed Ellahie / Alternate: Hon. Bryan Mekechuk
Morgan Hill Hon. Rich Constantine / Alternate: Hon. Gino Borgioli
Mountain View Hon. Margaret Abe-Koga / Alternate: Hon. Ellen Kamei

Palo Alto Hon. Pat Burt / Alternate: Hon. Lydia Kou

San Jose Hon. Chappie Jones / Alternate: Hon. Matt Mahan
Santa Clara Hon. Kathy Watanabe / Alternate: Hon. Anthony Becker
Saratoga Hon. Tina Walia / Alternate: Hon. Kookie Fitzsimmons

Sunnyvale Hon. Larry Klein / Alternate: Hon. Omar Din

Ex-Officio SCCCMA Representative – Zane Barnes, San José
Ex-Officio Acting Executive Director – Joanne Benjamin

Discussion & action may be taken on any of the items below. Times are approximate.

WELCOME AND ROLL CALL (Jones, 7:00-7:03pm)

Members in attendance (12)

Campbell	Bybee
Cupertino	Paul
Los Altos	Fligor
Los Gatos	Rennie
Monte Sereno	Ellahie
Morgan Hill	Constantine
Mountain View	Abe-Koga
Palo Alto	Kou (alternate)
San José	Jones
Santa Clara	Watanabe
Saratoga	Walia
Sunnyvale	Klein

Members absent (3)

Gilroy	Leroe-Muñoz
Los Altos Hills	Mok
Milpitas	Montano

Others in attendance:

- Joanne Benjamin, Acting Executive Director
- Zane Barnes, SCCCMA Representative
- Shali Sirkay, Candidate for Acting Executive Director
- Gary Baum, Counsel
- Audin Leung, Clerk
- Maha Elgenadi, Member of the Public

PUBLIC COMMENT

Maha Elgenadi gave public comment.

CLOSED SESSION (7:03-7:20pm)

1. PUBLIC EMPLOYEE APPOINTMENT pursuant to Government Code Section 54957(b)(1)

Title: (Acting Executive Director- new)

OPEN SESSION

- **2. Consent Agenda** (7:20-7:25pm)
- 2a. Approval of May Board of Directors Meeting Minutes
- 2b. Adoption of Resolution to Continue Meeting Exclusively Over Zoom
- 2c. Receive financial management report for the period ending May 31, 2022
- 2d. Approval of Invoices to be paid (Invoices available to Board members upon request)
 - Liebert Cassidy Whitmore \$1,102.00 (July 31, 2021)
 - Liebert Cassidy Whitmore \$608.00 (June 30, 2021)
- 2e. Approve an Amendment to the Consultant Agreement with Joanne Benjamin for assistance with the transition to a new Acting Executive Director, to increase the not to exceed amount by \$7500 and extend the term until December 31, 2022

Motion to approve consent agenda by Constantine. Seconded by Rennie. Motion adopted 12-0-0-3.

Bybee	AYE
Paul	AYE
Leroe-Muñoz	ABSENT
Fligor	AYE
Mok	ABSENT

Rennie	AYE
Montano	ABSENT
Ellahie	AYE
Constantine	AYE
Abe-Koga	AYE
Kou (alternate)	AYE
Jones	AYE
Watanabe	AYE
Walia	AYE
Klein	AYE

3. Consideration of New Acting Executive Director (7:25-7:26pm)

- Consideration of Approval of Agreement with Vaishali "Shali" Sirkay for a not to exceed the amount of \$50,000 to serve as Acting Executive Director June 27-December 31, 2022
- Appointment of Vaishali "Shali" Sirkay as Acting Director effective June 27, 2022

Motion by Fligor to approve **a**greement with Vaishali "Shali" Sirkay for a not to exceed the amount of \$50,000 to serve as Acting Executive Director June 27-December 31, 2022; and appoint Vaishali "Shali" Sirkay as Acting Director effective June 27, 2022. Seconded by Constantine. Motion adopted 12-0-0-3.

Bybee	AYE
Paul	AYE
Leroe-Muñoz	ABSENT
Fligor	AYE
Mok	ABSENT
Rennie	AYE
Montano	ABSENT
Ellahie	AYE
Constantine	AYE
Abe-Koga	AYE

Kou (alternate)	AYE
Jones	AYE
Watanabe	AYE
Walia	AYE
Klein	AYE

4. Legislative Action Committee Update (Fligor, 7:26-7:50pm)

Motion by Ellahie to adopt the following legislative positions as recommended by the Legislative Action Committee:

AB 2011: OpposeAB 2097: OpposeSB 897: OpposeSB 1087: Support

Seconded by Constantine. Motion adopted 12-0-0-3.

Seconded by const	ı
Bybee	AYE
Paul	AYE
Leroe-Muñoz	ABSENT
Fligor	AYE
Mok	ABSENT
Rennie	AYE
Montano	ABSENT
Ellahie	AYE
Constantine	AYE
Abe-Koga	AYE
Kou (alternate)	AYE
Jones	AYE
Watanabe	AYE
Walia	AYE
Klein	AYE

- 5. Santa Clara County City Managers Association Update (Barnes, 7:50-7:53pm)
- 6. Executive Director Update (Benjamin)

7. Joys and Challenges (Board Members 7:53-8:00pm)

ADJOURNMENT

Respectfully submitted,

Audin Leung Board Clerk

Minutes adopted via consent calendar at the August 11, 2022 Board of Directors meeting:

Motion by Ellahie to approve consent calendar. Seconded by Watanabe. Motion adopted unanimously.