

Legislative Action Committee Special Meeting Minutes

Virtual Meeting via Zoom June 23, 2022 6:00 PM

Meeting recording available on YouTube [LINK]

Minutes in Red / Agenda in Black

Committee Members

Chair: Hon. Neysa Fligor, Los Altos

Campbell	Hon. Liz Gibbons / Alternate: Hon. Anne Bybee
Cupertino	Hon. Darcy Paul / Alternate: Hon. Liang Chao

Gilroy Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz / Alternate: Hon. Marie Blankley

Los Altos Hon. Neysa Fligor / Alternate: Hon. Anita Enander
Los Altos Hills Hon. Stanley Mok / Alternate: Hon. Lisa Schmidt
Los Gatos Hon. Rob Rennie / Alternate: Hon. Marico Sayoc
Milpitas Hon. Carmen Montaño / Alternate: Hon. Evelyn Chua
Monte Sereno Hon. Javed Ellahie / Alternate: Hon. Bryan Mekechuk
Morgan Hill Hon. Rich Constantine / Alternate: Hon. Gino Borgioli
Mountain View Hon. Ellen Kamei / Alternate: Hon. Pat Showalter

Palo Alto Hon. Pat Burt / Alternate: Hon. Lydia Kou

San Jose Hon. Chappie Jones / Alternate: Hon. Matt Mahan
Santa Clara Hon. Kathy Watanabe / Alternate: Hon. Anthony Becker
Saratoga Hon. Tina Walia / Alternate: Hon. Kookie Fitzsimmons
Sunnyvale Hon. Gustav Larsson / Alternate: Hon. Alysa Cisneros

Discussion & action may be taken on any of the items below. Times are approximate.

WELCOME AND ROLL CALL (Fligor, 6:00 PM)

Members in attendance (12):

Camanahall	Dubaa (altamata)
Campbell	Bybee (alternate)
Cupertino	Paul
Los Altos	Fligor
Los Gatos	Rennie
Monte Sereno	Ellahie
Morgan Hill	Constantine
Mountain	Wa wa a'
View	Kamei
Palo Alto	Kou (alternate) - joined at 6:33pm
San José	Jones
Santa Clara	Watanabe
Saratoga	Walia
Sunnyvale	Cisneros (alternate)

Members absent (3):

Gilroy	Leroe-Muñoz
Los Altos Hills	Mok
Milpitas	Montano

Others in attendance:

- Joanne Benjamin, Acting Executive Director
- Zane Barnes, SCCCMA Representative
- Shali Sirkay, Candidate for Acting Executive Director
- Gary Baum, Counsel
- Audin Leung, Clerk

1. Consent Agenda

Approval of April 14, 2022 Legislative Action Committee Meeting Minutes.

Motion by Jones to approve consent agenda. Seconded by Rennie. Motion adopted 10-0-1-4.

Bybee	AYE
Paul	AYE
Leroe-Muñoz	ABSENT
Fligor	AYE
Mok	ABSENT
Rennie	AYE
Montano	ABSENT
Ellahie	AYE
Constantine	AYE
Kamei	AYE
Kou	ABSENT
Jones	AYE
Watanabe	ABSTAIN
Walia	AYE
Cisneros	AYE

2. Discuss and Consider Bills for Possible Action

2a. AB 2011 (Wicks) Affordable Housing and High Road Jobs Act of 2022

This bill would require almost all cities to ministerially approve certain affordable and mixed-use housing developments in areas of a city where office, retail or parking are principally allowed even if it conflicts with a local government's general plan, specific plan, zoning ordinance or regulation.

Motion by Jones to recommend to the Board of Directors a "Support if Amended" position on AB 2011. The motion did not receive a second and failed.

Motion by Constantine to recommend to the Board of Directors an "Oppose" position on AB 2011. Seconded by Paul. Motion adopted 8-1-2-4.

Bybee	AYE
Paul	AYE
Leroe-Muñoz	ABSENT
Fligor	ABSTAIN
Mok	ABSENT
Rennie	AYE
Montano	ABSENT
Ellahie	AYE
Constantine	AYE
Kamei	ABSTAIN
Kou	ABSENT
Jones	NAY
Watanabe	AYE
Walia	AYE
Cisneros	AYE

2b. <u>AB 2097 (Friedman) Residential and Commercial Development. Parking Requirements.</u>

This bill would prohibit a local government from imposing or enforcing a minimum automobile parking requirement or residential, commercial, or other developments, if the development is located on a parcel within one-half mile of public transit.

Motion by Constantine to recommend to the Board of Directors an "Oppose" position on AB 2097. Seconded by Watanabe. Motion adopted 8-1-3-3.

Bybee	AYE
Paul	AYE
Leroe-Muñoz	ABSENT
Fligor	AYE
Mok	ABSENT
Rennie	AYE
Montano	ABSENT

Ellahie	AYE
Constantine	AYE
Kamei	ABSTAIN
Kou	ABSTAIN
Jones	ABSTAIN
Watanabe	AYE
Walia	AYE
Cisneros	NAY

2c. SB 897 (Wieckowski) Accessory Dwelling Units.

This bill would amend the statewide standards that apply to locally adopted ordinances concerning the construction of accessory dwelling units (ADUs). SB 897 would require cities to allow ADUs to be constructed with a height of up to 25 feet.

Motion by Ellahie to recommend to the Board of Directors an "Oppose" position on SB 897. Seconded by Rennie. Motion adopted 8-0-4-3.

Bybee	AYE
Paul	AYE
Leroe-Muñoz	ABSENT
Fligor	AYE
Mok	ABSENT
Rennie	AYE
Montano	ABSENT
Ellahie	AYE
Constantine	AYE
Kamei	ABSTAIN
Kou	ABSTAIN
Jones	ABSTAIN
Watanabe	AYE
Walia	AYE
Cisneros	ABSTAIN

2d. SB 1087 (Gonzalez) Vehicles; Catalytic converters.

This bill would limit who can legally sell and purchase a detached catalytic converter. The measure would make a violation of this proposed law an infraction punishable with a fine between \$1,000 to 5,000

Motion by Constantine to recommend to the Board of Directors a "Support" position on SB 1087. Seconded by Paul. Motion adopted 11-0-1-3.

Bybee	AYE
Paul	AYE
Leroe-Muñoz	ABSENT
Fligor	AYE
Mok	ABSENT
Rennie	AYE
Montano	ABSENT
Ellahie	AYE
Constantine	AYE
Kamei	AYE
Kou	ABSTAIN
Jones	AYE
Watanabe	AYE
Walia	AYE
Cisneros	AYE

3. Other Bills

Discuss and consider a Board of Directors position recommendation for AB 917 and other bills brought forth by Committee members.

AB 917 (Becker) Seamless Transit Transformation Act.

This bill would require the Metropolitan Transportation Commission to create a Connected Network Plan; a comprehensive, standardized regional transit mapping and wayfinding system; an implementation and maintenance strategy; a funding plan; and open data standards. Transit agencies that fall within the City and County of San Francisco and the Counties of Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San

Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano, and Sonoma would be required to comply with this plan.

No action was taken on this item.

3. Announcements and Future Agenda Items (Committee Members)

PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no members of the public wishing to speak on non-agenda items.

ADJOURNMENT

Respectfully submitted,

Audin Leung Board Clerk

Minutes approved via consent agenda at the Board of Directors meeting on August 11, 2022. Motion by Jones to approve consent agenda. Seconded by Rennie. Motion adopted 11-0-0-4.

Gibbons	AYE
Paul	AYE
Leroe-Muñoz	ABSENT
Fligor	AYE
Mok	AYE
Rennie	AYE
Montano	ABSENT
Ellahie	AYE
Constantine	AYE
Kamei	AYE

Page 8 of 8 Cities Association of Santa Clara County Legislative Action Committee Special Meeting Minutes June 23, 2022

Burt	ABSENT
Jones	AYE
Watanabe	AYE
Walia	AYE
Larsson	ABSENT