

SANTA CRUZ/SANTA CLARA COUNTIES AIRPORT/COMMUNITY ROUNDTABLE

Recap of the Tenth Regular Meeting of the Roundtable

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 22, 2020 | 1:00PM - 4:00PM

CITY OF SANTA CLARA | COUNCIL CHAMBERS 1500 WARBURTON AVE, SANTA CLARA, CA 95050 Tel. (408) 615-2200 Fax (408) 241-6771 TDD (800) 735-2922

Roundtable Members Present

Mary-Lynne Bernald, City of Saratoga, Chairperson
Lisa Matichak, City of Mountain View, Vice Chairperson
Anita Enander, City of Los Altos
Carlos Palacios, County of Santa Cruz
Glenn Hendricks, City of Sunnyvale
Kathy Watanabe, City of Santa Clara
Lydia Kou, City of Palo Alto
Steve Preminger, Santa Clara County
Steven Scharf, City of Cupertino
Rowena Turner, City of Monte Sereno

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)

Faviola Garcia, Office of the Regional Administrator, Western Pacific

Congressional Staff

Kathleen Lee, Congressman Jimmy Panetta's Office, participated remotely via call-in number Karen Chapman, Congresswoman Anna Eshoo's Office, participated remotely via call-in number Tom Pyke, Congressman Ro Khanna's Office

SCSC Roundtable Consultant Staff

Steve Alverson, Environmental Science Associates (ESA) Evan Wasserman, ESA

Presenters

Ad Hoc Committee Chair – Lisa Matichak, Lydia Kou, Anita Enander

1. Welcome/Review of the Meeting Format

Roundtable Facilitator Steve Alverson welcomed the members of the public and reviewed the meeting format. He provided an overview of process for providing public comment and stated he expects everyone to remain cordial and respectful. He noted that an audio recording of the meeting and additional resources can be found on the SCSC Roundtable website.

2. Call to Order and Identification of Members Present

The SCSC Community Roundtable was called to order at 1:01 PM by Chairperson Mary-Lynne Bernald. Roundtable members identified themselves. A quorum of the members was present.

Chairperson Bernald provided an overview of the agenda, topics/items to be discussed, and introductions were provided for Congressional Representative staff members, the FAA representative, and the SFO airport representative.

3. Work Plan Ad Hoc Committee Report - Ad Hoc Committee Chair Lisa Matichak

Member Matichak provided an overview of the Ad Hoc Committee's work products, noting that they were able to complete and adopt the current Strategic Plan at the last Roundtable meeting, and that this meeting would pick up where the Roundtable left off on the draft of the Work Plan for review at the current meeting. Members reviewed the Work Plan and noted specific edits, and text to incorporate as agreed upon during the Roundtable discussion.

Public comments: Jennifer Landesmann; Cheryl Poland; Diane Matlock; Alastair Fyfe; Stefania Pietraszek; Marti Ainsworth; Robert Holbrook; Jane Manning; James Donofrio; Marie-Jo Fremont; Tami Mulcahy; Darlene Yaplee,

Follow-up: Chair Mary-Lynne Bernald; Member Glenn Hendricks; Facilitator Steve Alverson; Member Carlos Palacios; Member Kathy Watanabe; Member Lydia Kou; Member Lisa Matichak; Member Anita Enander; FAA Senior Advisor Faviola Garcia; Member Steve Preminger.

ACTION: Member Steve Preminger's motion to approve the addition of Member Palacios' additional text for the Work Plan, including edits made in real time at the meeting, and allowing for staff to correct grammatical errors, was seconded by Member Palacios. The motion was amended by Member Hendricks to include similar text as the Strategic Plan, with regards to not changing select committee recommendations in section 1.1 of the Work Plan. Further, the motion was amended by Members Kou and Enander to include text related to feedback within a three-month timeframe, being added to section 1.3 of the Work Plan. The motion was passed unanimously.

ACTION: Member Anita Enander's motion to approve the Work Plan with the amendments made to date, and including such additional words and modifications directed to ESA, was seconded by Member Glenn Hendricks. The motion was passed unanimously.

4. Oral Communications/Public Comment

Public comment: Robert Holbrook; Cheryl Poland; Ross Mayfield; Darlene Yaplee; Marie-Jo Fremont; Jennifer Landesmann; Tami Mulcahy; Jennifer Tasseff; Alastair Fyfe.

Follow-up Comments: None.

5. Member Discussion

- Chair's Report

Member Comments: Combined with Agenda Item 4 above to save time.

Public comment: None.

6. Review of Roundtable Action Items

Steven Alverson reviewed the Roundtable actions taken during the meeting as noted in the recap above.

7. Adjournment

Chairperson Bernald adjourned the meeting at 4:22 PM. During the meeting, it was noted that the next regular meeting was scheduled for Wednesday, February 26, 2020 at 1:00 PM, at the City of Santa Clara, City Hall Council Chambers at 1500 Warburton Ave, Santa Clara, CA 95050.