Local Candidates and other Current Election Information

Primary Election Set for May 15th

The final day to register to vote or change party affiliation for this election is Tuesday, April 24. Registration cards postmarked by this date or submitted online no later than 11:59 pm on April 24 are valid registrations for this election. Voter registration or information updates can be done online at My Vote:

http://sos.oregon.gov/voting/Pages/myvote.aspx?lang=en

Registration cards can be obtained at any post office, Department of Motor Vehicles, and the county clerk's office or printed from:

http://sos.oregon.gov/elections/Documents/SEL500.pdf

If you are a Military or an Overseas Voter please visit the Federal Voting Assistance Program (FVAP) webpage https://www.fvap.gov/oregon

State voters' pamphlets will be mailed by April 25. Ballots will be mailed between April 26 and May 1. It's important to update your voter registration if you have moved or changed your mailing address. The Postal Service cannot forward ballots. An absentee ballot can be requested if you will be away from home and would like to receive your ballot at a different address. To obtain an absentee ballot request form, contact the clerk's office or go online: http://sos.oregon.gov/elections/Documents/SEL111.pdf

The Independent Party of Oregon has opened its primary election to voters who are not members of a party for the May 2018 election. The Democratic Party of Oregon and Oregon Republican Party primaries will be only for voters registered with their party.

To receive a ballot for the Independent Party of Oregon, print out and complete the form found at the link below, sign it, and return it via email, mail, fax, or in person to your county elections office as soon as possible, but no later than 5 p.m. on April 24, 2018. This will not change your voter registration. http://sos.oregon.gov/voting/Documents/voters-not-registered-with-party.pdf

Your voted ballot must be received on or before 8:00pm on Election Day or it will not be counted. Postmarks do not count. The ballot return envelope can be stamped and mailed or dropped off at any official county drop site across the state. If a voter casts their ballot after the Wednesday before an election, the ballot should be left at an official drop box site to ensure it's counted. Our white drop boxes are labeled "Official Sherman County Ballot Drop Site" and are located near the following offices:

Rufus City Maintenance Building – 400 Main Street – To the right of the city drop box Wasco City Hall – 1017 Clark Street – (**Do not use the city payment box**) The white box marked "Sherman County Official Ballot Drop Site" is located just uphill from the stop sign between the sidewalk and street

Grass Valley City Hall - 109 SW Mill Street - To the left of the city drop box

Sherman County Courthouse - 500 Court Street, Moro - Clerk's office

Please call the Sherman County Clerk's Office at 541-565-3606 if: you do not receive a ballot; you make a mistake on your ballot; your ballot is damaged or destroyed; you lose your ballot; you need an absentee ballot; you have any other ballot or voting problems; you are in need of further assistance. Please be sure to sign your ballot return envelope.

Local candidates are listed below, with contested races in random alphabet order pursuant to ORS 254.155. All state candidates can be found on the Secretary of State's Election Division website: https://secure.sos.state.or.us/orestar/CFSearchPage.do

- PARTISAN OFFICE Commissioner, Position 2: Republican Tom McCoy
- NONPARTISAN OFFICE District Attorney: Wade M McLeod
- NONPARTISAN OFFICE County Judge: Fred Justesen, Joe Dabulskis, Mike Smith, Larry E Hoctor
- NONPARTISAN OFFICE Assessor: Ross Turney
- <u>PRECINCT COMMITTEEPERSONS</u> (No other major party candidates filed for office) Republican (one female and one male elected per precinct):

Precinct 1 – Rufus: Allison Moore; Clint Moore

Precinct 2 – Wasco: Forest M Peters; Harry Macnab

Precinct 3 – Moro: Patti L Moore; Christopher K Moore

Precinct 4 – Grass Valley: No Female Candidate Filed; Darren Padget, Brian Stradley

Precinct 5 – Kent: Judy von Borstel; Alan von Borstel

• NONPARTISAN OFFICE – Treasurer (This contest will not appear on the primary ballot. This will be voted on at November 6, 2018 General Election: Marnene E. Benson-Wood