

2020 PRIMARY ELECTION NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that on Tuesday, May 19, 2020 the Sherman County Clerk's Office will be conducting the 2020 Primary Election by mail. Candidates can file for office from September 12, 2019 until the deadline of 5:00pm on March 10, 2020. Candidates for the offices below may file at the County Clerk's office by one of the following methods: 1) submit form SEL 101 and pay a \$50 filing fee; 2) submit form SEL 101 and petition to obtain signatures. The following county offices will appear on this ballot:

PARTISAN OFFICE:

Major party candidates will be nominated for this office at the Primary and elected at the November 3, 2020 General Election:

County Commissioner, Position 1 – 4 year term (Current: Joan Bird)

NONPARTISAN OFFICES:

Candidates for the following nonpartisan office may be elected at the Primary; no filing fee is required:

Justice of the Peace – 6 year term (Current: Ron McDermid)

Candidates for the following nonpartisan offices will be nominated at the Primary and elected at the November 3, 2020 General Election.

County Sheriff – 4 year term (Current: Brad A. Lohrey) County Clerk – 4 year term (Current: Jenine McDermid)

Other public offices for which the Secretary of State will accept declarations of candidacy or petitions for nomination or election for this election can be found at the following link: https://sos.oregon.gov/elections/Documents/open-offices.pdf

All election forms and manuals are available on-line at the Oregon Secretary of State, Elections Division: https://sos.oregon.gov/elections/Pages/laws-rules-publications.aspx and on the Sherman County Clerk's web page: https://www.co.sherman.or.us/archive-county-election-results/ Forms are also available at the Clerk's Office in the Courthouse which is located at 500 Court Street in Moro. Please call office staff at 541-565-3606 if you have questions.