

Solano Local Agency Formation Commission

675 Texas St. Ste. 6700 • Fairfield, California 94533 (707) 439-3897 • FAX: (707) 438-1788

MINUTES OF THE LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION OF SOLANO COUNTY August 12, 2019 10 AM BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' CHAMBERS 675 TEXAS STREET, FAIRFIELD, CALIFORNIA

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Vice Chair Shopay (acting as the Chair) with a salute to the flag by Alternate Commissioner Smith.

2. ROLL CALL

Present: Commissioners: Ron Rowlett, Harry Price, Nancy Shopay, and John

Vasquez

Alternate Commissioners: Ron Kott and Shawn Smith

Not Present: Chair Jim Spering and Alternate Commissioner Skip Thomson

Staff Present: Rich Seithel, Executive Officer, Michelle McIntyre, Sr. Analyst, and

P. Scott Browne, Legal Counsel

Commissioner Vasquez confirmed that voting members were comprised of: 1 County Commissioner; 2 City Commissioners, and; 1 Public Commissioner.

3. CHANGES AND APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

There were no changes to the agenda.

4. PUBLIC COMMENTS

Chief Jim Nolan, Cordelia Fire Protection District's new Chief, introduced himself.

5. CONSENT ITEMS

- A. Minutes April 15, 2019
- B. Financial Reports June 2019 (Fiscal Year End)
- C. Legislative Report
- D. Fire service study contract authorization

Commissioners

Jim Spering, Chair • Nancy Shopay, Vice-Chair • Harry Price • Ron Rowlett • John Vasquez

Alternate Commissioners

Ron Kott • Shawn Smith • Skip Thomson

Staff

Rich Seithel, Executive Officer • Michelle McIntyre, Sr. Analyst • P. Scott Browne, Legal Counsel

Dave Marianno, Montezuma Fire District Commissioner, advised that their District hired a new fire chief, Chief Michael O'Connor. Mr. Marianno also expressed concern that he was unaware that LACO was considering a fire study or contracting a consultant for a fire study. Commissioner Vasquez explained that the Commission has been holding that discussion over many meetings and that the contract was discussed, budgeted, and approved in the FY 2019-20 LAFCO Final Budget Hearing.

Commissioner Rowlett moved to approve the consent items, second Commissioner Price. The motion was approved with the following votes:

AYES: Rowlett, Price, Shopay, and Vasquez

NOES: none ABSENT: none ABSTAIN: none

6. PUBLIC HEARING

LAFCO Project No. 2019-02 Fruitvale Annexation to the City of Vacaville. The Executive Officer introduced the item and Michelle McIntyre, Senior Analyst presented the staff report and recommended adoption. The Chair opened the item for public comments. There were no public comments.

Commissioner Vasquez moved to approve the item, second Commissioner Price. The motion was approved by roll call with the following votes:

AYES: Rowlett, Price, Shopay, and Vasquez

NOES: none ABSENT: none ABSTAIN: none

7. <u>BUSINESS ITEMS</u>

CALAFCO Conference and Board Nominations - There were no nominations for the CALAFCO Board openings.

Commissioner Shopay moved to appoint Commissioner Price as the CALAFCO Annual Business Meeting and Conference Voting Delegate from October 30-November 1, 2019 and the Executive Officer as the Alternate Voting Delegate. The motion was unanimously approved by the following votes:

AYES: Rowlett, Price, Shopay, and Vasquez

NOES: none ABSENT: none ABSTAIN: none

8. CLOSED SESSION

The Commission entered closed session at 10:55 a.m.

9. REPORT OF CLOSED SESSION

The Commission returned from closed session at approximately 11:25 a.m.

Following a Closed Session to discuss the Executive Officer's evaluation and compensation, Vice Chair Shopay, acting as Chair of the August 12, 2019 LAFCO meeting, reported that the Commission discussed providing a compensation of \$145,000 per year to the Executive Officer effective August 25, 2019, the beginning of the next pay period. Vice-Chair Shopay also reported that the Commission is pleased with the Executive Officer's performance.

Commissioner Vasquez moved to approve the increase to compensation, second Commissioner Price. The motion was approved by roll call with the following votes:

AYES: Price, Rowlett, Shopay, and Vasquez

NOES: none ABSENT: Spering ABSTAIN: none

Commissioner Vasquez moved to authorize the Chair to sign the Minute Order, second Commissioner Rowlett. The motion was approved with the following votes:

AYES: Price, Rowlett, Shopay, and Vasquez

NOES: none ABSENT: Spering ABSTAIN: none

10. ADJOURNMENT

Vice Chair Shopay adjourned the meeting at 11:30 a.m.

	Nancy Shopay, Vice Chair
	Solano Local Agency Formation Commission
ATTEST:	
Rich Seithel, Executive Officer	