

**Solano Local Agency Formation Commission** 

675 Texas St. Ste. 6700 • Fairfield, California 94533 (707) 439-3897 • FAX: (707) 438-1788

## MINUTES OF THE LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION OF SOLANO COUNTY MARCH 8, 2021 10 AM BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' CHAMBERS 675 TEXAS STREET FAIRFIELD, CALIFORNIA 94533

# 1. CALL TO ORDER AND SALUTE TO THE FLAG

The meeting was called to order at 10:01 am by Executive Officer Rich Seithel.

- 2. ROLL CALL
  - Present: Commissioners: Harry Price, Jim Spering, and John Vasquez

Alternate Commissioners: Ron Kott, Mitch Mashburn, and Shawn Smith

Not Present: Commissioners: Ron Rowlett and Nancy Shopay

Staff Present: Rich Seithel, Executive Officer; Michelle McIntyre, Sr. Analyst; Jeffrey Lum, Clerk to the Commission; and P. Scott Browne, Legal Counsel

Due to the absence of Chair Shopay and Vice-Chair Rowlett, according to the Commissioner's Bylaws, Article III, Section 5a, the members of the Commission present shall select one of the members to act as Chairperson Pro Tem and said selection to be entered into the minutes.

Commissioner Vasquez moved to appoint Commissioner Spering as Chairperson Pro Tem for the hearing, seconded by Commissioner Price. The motion was approved with the following votes:

AYES: Kott (voting as City Member), Price, Smith (voting as Public Member), Spering, and Vasquez
 NOES: None
 ABSENT: Rowlett and Shopay
 ABSTAIN: None

<u>Commissioners</u> Ron Rowlett, Chair · John Vasquez, Vice-Chair · Harry Price · Nancy Shopay · Jim Spering <u>Alternate Commissioners</u> Ron Kott · Mitch Mashburn · Shawn Smith

#### Staff

Rich Seithel, Executive Officer · Michelle McIntyre, Sr. Analyst · Jeffrey Lum, Analyst II · P. Scott Browne, Legal Counsel

## 3. CHANGES AND APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

There were no changes to the agenda. Commissioner Spering moved to approve the item, seconded by Commissioner Price. The motion was approved with the following votes:

AYES: Kott (voting as City Member), Price, Smith (voting as Public Member), Spering, and Vasquez
 NOES: None
 ABSENT: Rowlett and Shopay
 ABSTAIN: None

### 4. <u>PUBLIC COMMENT</u>

There were no comments from the public.

## 5. PUBLIC COMMENT ON CONSENT CALENDAR

There were no comments on the consent items.

### 6. <u>CONSENT ITEMS</u>

A. Minutes December 14 and 21, 2020

B. Financial Reports – December 2020 and January 2021

Commissioner Vasquez moved for approval of the consent items, second Commissioner Price. The item was approved by the following votes:

AYES: Kott (voting as City Member), Price, Smith (voting as Public Member), Spering, and Vasquez
NOES: None
ABSENT: Rowlett and Shopay
ABSTAIN: None

<u>Commissioners</u> Ron Rowlett, Chair · John Vasquez, Vice-Chair · Harry Price · Nancy Shopay · Jim Spering <u>Alternate Commissioners</u> Ron Kott · Mitch Mashburn · Shawn Smith

#### <u>Staff</u>

Rich Seithel, Executive Officer · Michelle McIntyre, Sr. Analyst · Jeffrey Lum, Analyst II · P. Scott Browne, Legal Counsel

# 7. PUBLIC HEARING ITEMS

# **RESOLUTION NO. 21-01**

A. LAFCO Project No. 2021-01: Levee and Reclamation Districts Sphere of Influence Update. The Commission will consider approving coterminous spheres for the following Districts: Collinsville Levee District, Reclamation Districts: 501, 536, 1607, 1667, 2093, 2098, 2104, 2112, 2127, 2129, 2130, 2134, 2135, 2138, 2139, 2141, and 2142. CEQA Lead Agency: LAFCO, Exempt per 15320.

Executive Officer Rich Seithel provided an overview of the item and staff's recommendations.

Commissioner Kott questioned the duplicate descriptions on Reclamation Districts 501 and 536 under Attachment A, Exhibit 1.

Executive Officer, Rich Seithel advised that staff will amend the descriptions of Reclamation Districts 536.

Commissioner Spering opened the item for public comments. There were no public comments for Public Hearing item 7A.

Commissioner Spering moved to adopt staff's recommendations, seconded by Commissioner Vasquez. The motion was approved with the following votes:

AYES: Kott (voting as City Member), Price, Smith (voting as Public Member), Spering, and Vasquez
 NOES: None
 ABSENT: Rowlett and Shopay
 ABSTAIN: None

## 8. BUSINESS ITEMS

## **RESOLUTION NO. 21-02**

A. LAFCO Project No. 2021-02 7465 Dry Creek Trail Annexation to the Rural North Vacaville Water District (RNVWD). Proposed annexation to RNVWD for the purpose of extending one potable water service connection to a 5-acre parcel located at 7465 Dry Creek Trail, unincorporated Solano County. CEQA Lead Agency: RNVWD, Exempt per 15061(b)(3). (APN 0105-080-270)

Senior Analyst, Michelle McIntyre provided an overview of the item and staff's recommendation.

Commissioner Spering opened the item for public comments. There were no public comments for Business Item 8A.

Commissioner Vasquez moved to adopt staff's recommendations, seconded by Commissioner Price. The motion was approved with the following votes:

AYES: Kott (voting as City Member), Price, Smith (voting as Public Member), Spering, and Vasquez
 NOES: None
 ABSENT: Rowlett and Shopay
 ABSTAIN: None

# **RESOLUTION NO. 21-03**

B. LAFCO Project No. 2021-03 Roberts' Ranch Village A Detachment from Solano Irrigation District (SID) Upon detachment, the City of Vacaville will provide potable and non-potable water service to the 23.55-acre parcel located north of Fry Road and east of Leisure Town Road, City of Vacaville. CEQA Lead Agency: City of Vacaville, environmental impact report State Clearing House #2015112042 certified on March 28, 2017. (APN 0138-030-220)

Senior Analyst, Michelle McIntyre provided an overview of the item and staff's recommendation.

Commissioner Spering opened the item for public comments. There were no public comments for Business Item 8B.

Commissioner Kott moved to adopt staff's recommendations, seconded by Commissioner Price. The motion was approved with the following votes:

AYES: Kott (voting as City Member), Price, Smith (voting as Public Member), Spering, and Vasquez
 NOES: None
 ABSENT: Rowlett and Shopay
 ABSTAIN: None

C. Mid-Year Budget Status Report

Senior Analyst, Michelle McIntyre provided an overview of the item.

Commissioner Spering opened the item for public comments. There were no public comments for Business Item 8C.

D. LAFCO Chair and Vice-Chair Appointments for 2021

Executive Officer, Rich Seithel noted that the next Chair should be a City member and the next Vice-Chair should be a County member.

Commissioner Spering opened the item for public comments. There were no public comments for Business Item 8D.

Commissioner Spering moved to select Commissioner Rowlett to be the Chair and Commissioner Vasquez to be the Vice-Chair of Solano LAFCO, seconded by Commissioner Kott. The motion was approved with the following votes:

AYES: Kott (voting as City Member), Price, Smith (voting as Public Member), Spering, and Vasquez
 NOES: None
 ABSENT: Rowlett and Shopay
 ABSTAIN: None

E. Committee Appointments for 2021

Executive Officer, Rich Seithel provided an overview of the current members of the Personnel and Finance Budget Committee.

Item continued to April 12, 2021 hearing to allow Chair to appoint membership.

### 9. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Spering adjourned the meeting at 10:29am.

Ronald Rowlett II, Chair Solano Local Agency Formation Commission

ATTEST:

Jeffrey Lum, Clerk to the Commission