

Solano Local Agency Formation Commission

675 Texas St. Ste. 6700 • Fairfield, California 94533 (707) 439-3897 • FAX: (707) 438-1788

MINUTES OF THE LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION OF SOLANO COUNTY MARCH 9, 2020 10 AM BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' CHAMBERS 675 TEXAS STREET, FAIRFIELD, CALIFORNIA

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 am by Chair Spering with a salute to the flag.

2. ROLL CALL

Present: Commissioners: Ron Rowlett (arrived at 10:15), Harry Price, Nancy

Shopay, Jim Spering, and John Vasquez

Alternate Commissioner Ron Kott

Not Present: Alternate Commissioners: Shawn Smith and Skip Thomson

Staff Present: Rich Seithel, Executive Officer; Michelle McIntyre, Sr. Analyst; Kevin

Stichter, Analyst; and P. Scott Browne, Legal Counsel

3. CHANGES AND APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Commissioner Vasquez moved for approval of the agenda, second Commissioner Kott. The item was approved by the following votes.

AYES: Kott (voting as City member), Price, Shopay, Spering, and Vasquez

NOES: none ABSENT: Rowlett ABSTAIN: none

4. PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no public comments

5. <u>COMMISSION ITEMS</u>

Items moved to end of the agenda.

Commissioner Rowlett arrived at approximately 10:15 am.

6. PRESENTATION

A. LAFCO Project No. 2019-03: Fire Districts Deployment and Fiscal/Governance Options

The Commission received a project update from Citygate Associates.

The Commission received public comments from the following individuals:

- Dave Marino, Montezuma Fire Protection District Commissioner
- Jeff Dittmer, Cordelia Fire Protection District Board Member
- Duane Kromm, former LAFCO Commissioner
- Chris Calvert, Vacaville Fire Protection District President
- Dennis Adams, Solano County Grand Jury

7. PUBLIC COMMENT ON CONSENT CALENDAR

There were no public comments on the consent items.

8. CONSENT ITEMS

- A. Minutes December 9, 2019
- B. Financial Reports November through January 2020
- C. LAFCO Project No. 2020-02: County Service Area No. S-1 Dissolution (Res 20-01)

Commissioner Price moved for approval of the consent items, second Commissioner Shopay. The consent items were approved by the following votes.

AYES: Rowlett, Price, Shopay, Spering, and Vasquez

NOES: none ABSENT: none ABSTAIN: none

9. <u>BUSINESS ITEMS</u>

A. LAFCO Project No. 2018-03: Levee and Reclamation Districts Municipal Service Review (Res. 20-02)

The Commission received a presentation of the final report from Milani and Associates.

The Commission received public comments from the following individual:

Judi Booe, Collinsville Levee District Administrative Staff.

Commissioner Vasquez moved for approval of the item, second Commissioner Shopay. The item was approved by the following votes:

AYES: Rowlett, Price, Shopay, Spering, and Vasquez

NOES: none ABSENT: none ABSTAIN: none

- B. Mid-Year Budget Report The Commission received the mid-year budget status report.
- C. Change of Organization and Reorganization Application

The item was approved unanimously by the following votes:

AYES: Rowlett, Price, Shopay, Spering, and Vasquez

NOES: none ABSENT: none ABSTAIN: none

10. CORRESPONDENCE

A. The Commission received various newspaper articles.

5. <u>COMMISSION ITEMS</u>

A. Chair and Vice-Chair Appointments for Calendar Year 2020

Chair Spering nominated Vice-Chair Shopay as the incoming Chair and Commissioner Rowlett as the Vice-Chair, the motion was seconded by Commissioner Price. The motion was approved by the following votes:

AYES: Rowlett, Price, Shopay, Spering, and Vasquez

NOES: none ABSENT: none ABSTAIN: none

B. Committee Appointments for Calendar Year 2020

After a brief discussion with the Commission, Chair Shopay recommended that the Budget Committee and Personnel Committee remain as standing committees while all other committees are now ad hoc committees; all memberships of the various committees will remain as is. Commissioner Vasquez moved Chair Shopay's recommendation, second Commissioner Price. The motion was approved by the following votes:

AYES: Rowlett, Price, Shopay, Spering, and Vasquez

NOES: none ABSENT: none ABSTAIN: none

11. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Chair Shopay adjourned the meeting at 12:07 pm.

	Nancy Shopay, Chair
	Solano Local Agency Formation Commission
ATTEST:	
Michelle McIntyre, Clerk to the Comm	ission