## Resolution No. 2022-15

## RESOLUTION OF THE LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION (LAFCO) OF SOLANO COUNTY HONORING COMMISSIONER JIM SPERING

**WHEREAS**, Jim Spering served as Mayor of Suisun City from 1986 to 2006 and was elected to the Solano County Board of Supervisors in June of 2006 and served the residents of Solano County with distinction as a LAFCO Commissioner for 36 years; and

**WHEREAS**, as Suisun Mayor, Jim Spering also chaired the city's Redevelopment Agency, where he led a nationally recognized redevelopment program; and

WHEREAS, as Supervisor, Jim Spering served on the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC), Solano Water Authority, and the Solano Transportation Authority and spearheaded the creation of MTC's Transportation for Livable Communities (TLC program) a pioneering transit-oriented development policy financed with regional discretionary funds and was instrumental in the popular Amtrak Capitol Corridor intercity rail service linking Sacramento and the Bay Area; and

**WHEREAS**, LAFCO Commissioner Spering was instrumental in over 100 reorganizations and multiple high-profile studies that were vital to the region's growth and prosperity including the Canon Station, Flyway Education Center, and Middle Green Valley projects, as well as being an eminent and ardent supporter of Travis Air Force Base; and,

WHEREAS, Jim Spering exhibited his exemplary leadership through the changes and challenges of AB 2838 (Hertzberg, 2000) with patience and equanimity, and encouraged staff and local agencies in the subsequent preparation of Municipal Service Reviews and Spheres of Influence studies for the seven cities and 42 independent special districts under LAFCO's jurisdiction; and,

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED** that Solano Local Agency Formation Commission hereby honors, recognizes, and thanks Commissioner Jim Spering for his years of tireless dedication, inspiration, and distinguished services to the citizens of Solano County and his professionalism and commitment to the Solano Local Agency Formation Commission.

INTRODUCED AND PASSED: December 12, 2022

	quez, Chair	
_	Officer Solano Local Agency Commission	
Torrida		
A TTE 0 T		
ATTEST:		
Christina	Love, Deputy Executive Office	9