

Solano Local Agency Formation Commission

675 Texas St. Ste. 6700 • Fairfield, California 94533 (707) 439-3897 • FAX: (707) 438-1788

STAFF REPORT

DATE: March 6, 2024

TO: Local Agency Formation Commission

FROM: Rich Seithel, Executive Officer

SUBJECT: 2024 LAFCO Chair and Vice-Chair Appointments

Recommendation:

APPOINT 2023 Vice Chair as 2024 Chair.

NOMINATE and APPOINT a Vice Chair from one of the two County Supervisors with voting authority.

Executive Summary:

Solano LAFCO By-Laws, Article III, Section 1, states that:

- The officers of the Commission shall be rotated with rotations to begin and end at the first meeting of each calendar year.
- The rotation of the chair is as follows: city, county, public member.
- The rotation of the vice-chair is staggered so that the appointed vice-chair is the member who is to be appointed as chair the following calendar year.

In accordance with the By-Laws:

- 2023 Vice Chair Kott (city member) is appointed 2024 Chair, and
- The 2024 Vice Chair appointment should be a voting county member.

Conclusion:

2024 Chair is Ron Kott and the 2024 Vice Chair must be appointed from either Commissioner Vasquez or Commissioner Mashburn.

Commissioners

Nancy Shopay, Chair • Ron Kott, Vice-Chair • John Vasquez • Mitch Mashburn • Steve Bird Alternate Commissioners

• Alma Hernandez • Wanda Williams

Staff

Rich Seithel, Executive Officer • Christina Love, Deputy Executive Officer • Aaron Norman, Analyst II • Tova Guevara, Office Administrator/Clerk • Tyra Hays, Project Specialist • Mala Subramanian, Lead Legal Counsel