## City of Sonoma

No. 1 The Plaza
Sonoma California 95476-6690
Phone (707) 938-3681 Fax (707) 938-8775
E-Mail: cityhall@sonomacity.org



## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

DATE: November 27, 2023

MEDIA CONTACT: Rebekah Barr, City Clerk

EMAIL: rbarr@sonomacity.org PHONE: (707) 933-2216

## The City of Sonoma Invites Nominations for the 2024 Honorary Alcalde

Nominations will be accepted via mail or email through January 12, 2024, at 5:00 p.m.

Sonoma, CA – The City of Sonoma (City) is excited to announce the commencement of the nomination process for the prestigious title of <u>Honorary Alcalde</u> for the year 2024. Nominations are open to the public, and the City encourages community members to put forth deserving candidates for this esteemed recognition.

Since 1975, the Sonoma City Council has annually selected an outstanding citizen, bestowing upon them the title of Honorary Alcalde. The tradition honors individuals or couples who have demonstrated exemplary commitment to the community through voluntary service, leadership in non-profit organizations, and impactful community projects.

Nominations for the 2024 Honorary Alcalde will be accepted until 5:00 p.m. on January 12, 2024. The City encourages the submission of nominations through letters or emails to the City Manager. Email nominations to <a href="mailto:cityhall@sonomacity.org">cityhall@sonomacity.org</a> or mail them to:

City of Sonoma

Attn: David Guhin, City Manager

No. 1, The Plaza, Sonoma CA 95476

To be considered, nominees must reside in the City of Sonoma or Sonoma Valley, may be either an individual or a couple, and should have accomplished several of the following:

- Participation in a broad spectrum of voluntary community service to Sonoma Valley.
- Leadership role in at least one non-profit organization.
- Spearheading at least one community-serving project without compensation.
- Recognition for consistent behind-the-scenes good deeds.
- Demonstrates a humble approach by not actively pursuing public praise or acknowledgment for their contributions; and/or
- Adherence to a high standard of moral and ethical values.

The Alcalde tradition traces its roots to California's pueblo system, where town councils, or ayuntamientos, were headed by mayors known as Alcaldes. These leaders played pivotal roles in local governance, addressing

various issues from land disputes to criminal matters. Today, the Spanish word "Alcalde" literally means Mayor.

The selection process involves a Nomination Period and Outreach, with press releases sent to newspapers and promotion through various channels. The Nomination Protocols guide the submission of letters or emails to the City Manager and letters of recommendation for broad support. A Nominating Committee reviews nominations and selects three candidates for consideration, culminating in the Mayor's final nomination and Council ratification.

The Honorary Alcalde, once appointed, undertakes various roles and responsibilities, including participation in events such as parades, ceremonies, and receptions.

Join us in celebrating the spirit of community service by nominating individuals or couples who embody the values of the City of Sonoma and continue this tradition of honoring those who make a significant impact on our community.

For questions or more information, please contact the City Clerk, Rebekah Barr via phone at (707) 933-2216 or email <a href="mailto:rbarr@sonomacity.org">rbarr@sonomacity.org</a>.

## Previous Alcaldes Include:

1992, Ligia (Li) Booker

1976, August Pinelli	1993, Jim Vanderbilt	2009, Elizabeth Kemp
1977, Henri Maysonnave	1994, Nancy Parmelee	2010, Niels Chew
1978, Jerry Casson	1995, George Watson	2011, Mary Evelyn Arnold
1979, Bob Lynch	1996, Carolyn & Bob Stone	2012, Whitney Evans
1980, Dan Ruggles	1997, L.C. "Pete" Peterson	2013, Judy & Les Vadasz
1981, Adele & Paul Harrison	1998, Peggy McAleese	2014, Suzanne Brangham
1982, Gail Fehrensen	1999, Helen Fernandez	2015, Marcie Waldron
1983, Chet Sharek	2000, Howie Ehret	2016, Patrick Garcia
1984, Evelyn Berger	2001, Robert Cannard Sr.	2017, Pat & Ted Eliot
1985, Sandy & Alan Piotter	2002, Mitch Mulas	2018, Marcelo Defreitas
1986, Nell Lane	2003, Ellie Baker	2019, Karen Collins
1987, Jim Metzger	2004, Sue Holman & Susan Weeks	2020 & 2021, Kimberly & Simon Blattner
1988, Helen Shainsky		
1989, Jerry Tuller	2005, June Sheppard	2022, Steve Page
1990, Loyce & Ernest Power	2006, Kathy & Al Mazza	2023, William "Bill" Lynch
1991, Jo Baker	2007, Phyllis Carter	
1992 Ligia (Li) Booker	2008, Sy Lenz	