

69TH ANNUAL

AZTEC CROSS COUNTRY INVITATIONAL

September 21, 2013

Balboa Park San Diego California



69TH ANNUAL AZTEC CROSS COUNTRY INVITATIONAL

History

From it's a humble birth on December 18, 1943, during World War II, the Aztec Invitational has become the oldest, continuous-running Cross Country Invitational in the United States, with one break during the week of September 11, 2001, when all NCAA sporting events were cancelled.

The first course was on the Montezuma Mesa campus. As the campus grew, the course was first moved to Balboa Park's Morley Field in the '60s, and then to its current location on the west side of Balboa Park in the '70's. The course length has changed many times over the years from its original 1.9 miles. In 1967, Tokyo Olympic 10 kilometer Gold Medalist, Billy Mills set a new course record on the 4.5 mile course at Morley Field. The men's 10 kilometer course at west Balboa Park was two loops of the current women's 5 kilometer course, the first from the current finish line to the starting line, then a reverse loop back to the finish line. In 1972, Mexico City 10 kilometer Olympian, Tracy Smith was the first to break 30 min on the 10K course. The men's course was changed to its present 8K configuration in 1994. The women's collegiate 5 kilometer course was added in 1977 and has never changed.

In the '60's and '70's the Aztec Invitational was a two-day event that included Junior High, High School, Junior College, University and Open Divisions with as many as 20 separate races. Four-time cross country All-American, Thom Hunt, who now coaches at San Diego Mesa Community College, captured a rare Aztec Invitational hat trick by winning Junior High (1972), High School (1975) and Open (1978) division titles.

Since 1977 over 150 different university, college and club teams have competed in the Aztec Invitational. In 2000 there were 29 men's and 32 women's teams, making a total of 61. 2013 will be the sixth year the Invitational has offered an all-ages, mixed-gender 5 kilometer Community Race. In 2006, 2007, 2008, and now again in 2013, the Community Race is part of the USA Track and Field San Diego-Imperial Association "Dirt Dog Cross Country Series' as an official, sanctioned event.







Aztec Invitational Collegiate Records

Men's 8 kilometer course

1	Aron Rono	24:16	Azusa Pacific	2008	SR		
2	Meb Keflezigh	24:31	UCLA	1996	JR		
3	Morten Bostrom	24:34	Northern Arizona	2008	SR		
4	Kyle Perry	24:42	Brigham Young	2008	SR		
5	Jordan Chipangama	24:44	Central Arizona	2008	SO		
6	Abdi Abdirahman	24:46	Arizona	1998	SR		
7	Brandon Hebbert	24:54	Brigham Young	2008	SO		
8	Stephen Shay	25:02	Brigham Young	2008	SR		
9	Obed Mutanya	25:02	Central Arizona	2004	SO		
10	Micheil Jones	25:02	Arizona	1998	JR		
11	Matt Williams	25:03	Air Force Academy	2008	SR		
12	Nurani Sheikh	25:05	Northern Arizona	2002	FR		
13	Richard Nelson	25:06	Brigham Young	2008	JR		
14	Jody Benson	25:11	Southern Utah	1999	SR		
15	Sean Houseworth	25:13	Air Force Academy	2008	SR		
	Women's 5 kilometer course						

1	Joan Hansen	16:47.1	Arizona	1981	SR
2	Monica Joyce	16:56.0	San Diego State	1981	SO
3	Amy Skieresz	16:57	Arizona	1997	JR
4	Sylvia Mosqueda	16:59	Cal State Los Angeles	1987	SR
5	Leslie White	17:01.4	Col Poly SLO	1983	SO
6	Sally Wood	17:02	UC Berkeley	1986	FR
7	Shannon Rowbury	17:03	Duke	2004	JR
8	Brigid Stirling	17:06	UC Irvine	1988	JR
9	Tania Fischer	17:07.0	UCLA	1984	SO
10	Gwen Willink	17:10	New Mexico	1988	SR
11	Tara Chaplin	17:11	Arizona	1998	FR
12	Laurie Chapman	17:11	UCLA	1988	SR
13	Jacky Kipwambok	17:13	Azusa Pacific	2008	SO
14	Kim Mortensen	17:15	UCLA	1996	FR
15	Laura Mickelson	17:19	Loyola Marymount	2006	JR

Aron Rono also holds the overall Men's 8K course record. The Female overall course record was set by Sylvia Mosqueda, running 16:44 for Reebok in 1988.

Aztec Community 5 kilometer Race Records

Ton	15	Mon
LOD	13	mell

iop io meii							
	First Name	<u>Last Name</u>	Age	<u>City</u>	<u>Time</u>	<u>Year</u>	
1	Sergio	Gonzalez	21	Oceanside	15:30.0	2008	
2	Paul	Wellman	30	San Diego	15:33.0	2008	
3	Allen	Wagner	27	San Diego	15:38.0	2008	
4	Marco	Venancio	23	San Diego	15:39.0	2008	
5	Okwaro	Raura	33	Encinitas	15:43.0	2008	
6	Nozario	Romero	32	San Diego	15:51.0	2006	
7	Jesse	Armigo	23	San Diego	16:08.0	2006	
8	Jeremy	Brown	28	San Diego	16:11.0	2008	
9	Ozzie	Alvarez	23	San Diego	16:13.0	2007	
10	Dima	Lehonkov	23	San Diego	16:14.0	2007	
11	Ryan	Emery	26	San Diego	16:14.0	2006	
12	Sean	Birren	34	San Diego	16:15.0	2007	
13	Sean	McKeon	25	San Diego	16:22.0	2008	
14	David	Dominquez	32	San Diego	16:22.0	2007	
15	Fernando	Blanco	29	San Diego	16:23.0	2008	
Top 15 Women							

	First Name	Last Name	<u>Age</u>	<u>City</u>	<u>Time</u>	<u>Year</u>
1	Lesley	Paterson	27	San Diego	17:49.0	2008
2	Tamara	Lave	37	San Diego	18:24.0	2006
3	Dianna	Chivakos	25	San Diego	18:31.0	2008
4	Ann Marie	Byrne	22	San Diego	18:31.0	2006
5	Christy	Beckman	25	San Diego	18:34.0	2006
6	Emily	Mc Gregor	22	San Diego	18:57.0	2008
7	Laura	Stuart	41	San Diego	19:09.0	2006
8	Kathy	Kasischke	31	San Diego	19:11.0	2007
9	Tracy	Wright	38	San Diego	19:13.0	2006
10	Melissa	Kloz	32	San Diego	19:15.0	2007
11	Charisa	Wernick	32	Carlsbad	19:20.0	2008
12	Kylie	Edwards	26	San Diego	19:31.0	2006
13	Alisa	Rodgers	35	Poway	19:33.0	2008
14	Rachelle	Riggs	28	San Diego	19:35.0	2006
15	Jennifer	Denkins	30	San Diego	19:36.0	2007