The University of Tasmania receives distinguished award - Communications | University of Tasmania



University News	
Media Releases	
Media on Campus	
Communications Information for Staff	
Contact Us	

## The University of Tasmania receives distinguished award

The University of Tasmania has been recognised for its excellence in enhancing student learning, after receiving one of eight prestigious accolades at the Australian Awards for University Teaching.

The Academic Operations Sustainability Integration Program (AOSIP) received a Commonwealth Office for Learning and



Teaching supported Award, at a gala dinner at Parliament House in Canberra on 8 December.

"Winning an OLT Award is a great honour and bears testament to the efforts of both professional and academic staff working together to provide a fantastic addition to the student experience," Corey Peterson, the University's Sustainability Manager said.

"Not only does AOSIP provide real world experience leading to academic credits, students also have the opportunity of seeing the direct impact of their studies on the University's environment."

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Students and Education), David Sadler, said the University was proud to be awarded such a distinguished decoration.

"It was truly terrific that a program that has made such strides and which has brought enormous benefits to students, staff and this institution should be recognised as such with one of just eight Awards."

The Academic Operations Sustainability Integration Program provides authentic learning experiences for students from across the institution through the collaborative design of focused learning programs that address on-campus operational priorities.

Through participation in undergraduate and postgraduate classroom activities and research projects, students from across the University have delivered measurable improvements to campus operations and infrastructure.

"For the University, AOSIP brings the natural creativity and enthusiasm of students to bear on providing solutions to real operational problems," Mr Peterson said.

The award also recognised the team of professional and academic staff who delivered this innovative and outstanding contribution to the quality of student learning and the student experience of higher education.

The team includes Mr Corey Peterson, Dr Anna Lyth, Ms Kristin Warr Pedersen, Dr Emma Pharo, Mr Mark White, Ms Rowena Zwart, Mr Geoff Clark, Dr Aidan Davison, Associate Professor Fred Gale and Professor Jamie Kirkpatrick.

Other staff that have played a key role include Dr Carmen Primo Perez, Mr Dave Wood, and PhD students Ms Kim Beasy and Mr Kamal Singh.

To date, the program has involved over 900 students and 23 staff from 12 discipline areas and three Tasmanian campuses.

Share on:

□ Facebook	
	Published