

www.indstate.edu

Electronic Thesis and Dissertation (ETD) Policy

Indiana State University
College of Graduate and Professional Studies

One of the primary goals of Electronic Theses and Dissertations is timely and increased access to these documents. Beginning with May 2010 graduation, the final copy of any thesis or dissertation submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirements for a graduate degree at Indiana State University must be submitted electronically in PDF format. The College of Graduate and Professional Studies will not accept paper submissions after January 1, 2010. Students graduating before May 2010 may submit their final thesis or dissertation in PDF format if they so choose. The Certificate of Approval, or signature page, must be submitted on paper and must contain original signatures. That page will be scanned and merged with the PDF document.

One of the advantages of ETDs is the ability to embed files and hyperlinks into a PDF document. Embedded files, whenever possible, must use standard file formats such as .bmp, .jpg, .gif, or .tif for graphics, .mpeg for video, and .wav or .mp3 for audio. Exceptions to standard file formats must be approved by the College of Graduate and Professional Studies. Embedding files and using hyperlinks are not required. In the interest of preserving the integrity of theses and dissertations, the student in consultation with their advisor must ensure the stability and availability of critical data.

After final approval by the student's committee and by the College of Graduate and Professional Studies, the student will submit a PDF copy of the thesis or dissertation that is unchanged in format and substance from the approved copy. This PDF version will have a technical review by the College of Graduate and Professional Studies to check for formatting and technical matters related to storage and transmittal. When the thesis or dissertation contains multiple files, those must all be submitted together. The College of Graduate and Professional Studies, in collaboration with the ISU Office of Information Technology and Cunningham Memorial Library will be responsible to create and maintain a system for the electronic submission and storage of electronic theses and dissertations. Indiana State University will maintain membership in the Network of Digital Libraries of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) as well as continue to send copies of theses and dissertations to University Microfilms International (UMI) / ProQuest. Indiana State University will provide sufficient server space and technical support to collect, catalog, archive, and host ETDs in order to ensure their continued availability on the Internet, and will provide technical support to facilitate the ETD process from document submission to document hosting.

Some theses or dissertations may contain material destined for a publication or patent which requires that the material cannot be made immediately available on the Internet. There will be two types of access for ETDs: Open and Closed.

- Open access theses and dissertations will be made available on the Internet after final approval and technical review.
- Closed access theses and dissertations will not have the thesis or dissertation available. This status is available only for one (1) year with a onetime extension of one (1) year. At the end of the approved period the thesis or dissertation becomes open access.

Students must request closed access in writing and must provide documentation of patent application or acceptance for publication as a rationale for not making their theses and dissertations immediately available. Requests for the additional year are required to be filed by Dec. 1 prior to the scheduled release. The start of closed access will be the beginning of the academic year following graduation. Specifically, theses and dissertations submitted in May 2010 would start counting the one (1) year of closed access at the beginning of Fall semester 2010. Exceptions to access can be made at the discretion of the Dean of the College of Graduate and Professional Studies.

Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Committee

Will Barratt, ELAF/SOGS Chair Shelley Arvin, CML Matt Brennan, English Timothy Demchak, Athletic Training Ed Kinley, OIT Liz O'Laughlin, Psychology George Maughan, Technology Cinda May, CML Susan Powers, CIMT/COE Virgil Sheets, Psychology George Stachokas, CML

Passed Graduate Council, November 14, 2008 Passed Executive Council, December 9, 2008 Passed Faculty Senate, January 22, 2009