CAMPUS PLANNING COMMITTEE

Functions

Each state university and college was required by resolution of the Trustees on May 12, 1961, to establish a committee whose basic membership and functions were prescribed by the Trustee action. The committee's primary function is to assist the President in the coordination, development, and control of a long-range plan for the physical development of the campus, within a framework of policy established by the Trustees of The California State University. The committee serves in an advisory capacity in relation to the following:

- 1. Development and maintenance of a long-range plan for the physical development of the campus.
- 2. Selection of sites for each new building and other physical facilities on any university-owned property.
- 3. Review the work of the architects during the schematic drawings phase.
- 4. Review of recommendations on the five-year and other long-range building programs.
- 5. Review of all proposed projects to be constructed on the campus that will have an architectural and/or environmental impact. These projects will include, but are not necessarily limited to, structures, roads, walks, signs, etc.
- 6. Study and review such other areas as may be delegated to it by the President.
- 7. Work with city and county planning commissions on matters related to campus development, zoning in areas surrounding the university, streets, and highways leading to and from the campus, and other matters.

<u>Membership</u>

- 1. President (Chair)
- 2. Provost (Vice Chair)
- 3. Chief of Staff
- 4. Vice President for University Advancement
- 5. Vice President for Student Affairs
- 6. One representative from College of Agriculture, Food & Environmental Sciences nominated by the Dean
- 7. One representative from the College of Architecture and Environmental Design nominated by the Dean
- 8. Senior Vice President for Administration & Finance
- 9. Consulting Architect
- 10. Facility Planner, Campus
- 11. Facility Planner, Chancellor's Office
- 12. Two representatives from the Academic Senate nominated by the Executive Committee of the Academic Senate
- 13. Representative of the staff (appointed by the President)
- 14. ASI President or ASI Chair of the Board
- 15. Two representatives of the City of San Luis Obispo nominated by the Mayor, with one member being an elected official and one member representing staff
- 16. Two representatives of the County of San Luis Obispo nominated by the Chair of the Board of Supervisors, with one member being an elected official and one member representing staff
- 17. Chair, Campus Landscape Committee
- 18. Associate Vice Provost for Academic Programs and Planning
- 19. Executive Director for Cal Poly Corporation
- 20. Executive Director for ASI

Campus membership is appointed by the President. Except for ex officio members, the term of service will be two years.

Meetings

Campus Planning Committee meetings are scheduled quarterly or more often if necessary.

Membership and title changes June 2014, October 2015