

Press Release

German Book Prize 2022: Meet the jury

Seven jury members selected / Publishers may submit titles until 25 March 2022 / Call for submissions at www.deutscher-buchpreis.de/anmeldung

The jury for the German Book Prize 2022 has been chosen. The Akademie Deutscher Buchpreis (German Book Prize Academy) has appointed the following seven literature experts to the jury:

- Erich Klein (independent critic, Vienna)
- Frank Menden (bookshop "stories! Die Buchhandlung", Hamburg)
- **Uli Ormanns** (bookshop "Agnes Buchhandlung", Cologne)
- Isabelle Vonlanthen (Literaturhaus Zürich)
- **Selma Wels** (curator and moderator, Frankfurt)
- Jan Wiele (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung)
- Miriam Zeh (Deutschlandfunk Kultur)

The members of the jury decide who will receive the German Book Prize 2022. To ensure the greatest level of independence for the award, the Akademie Deutscher Buchpreis selects a new jury every year. It is possible to serve as a member of the jury more than once.

Publishers may submit titles

Starting now, publishers can submit titles for the German Book Prize 2022 at www.deutscher-buchpreis.de/anmeldung. Until 25 March 2022, they may each submit two German-language novels – and recommend up to five additional titles – from their current or forthcoming lists. To participate, applicants must be members of the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels (German Publishers and Booksellers Association) or of the Swiss or Austrian equivalents, the Schweizer Buchhändler- und Verleger-Verband and Hauptverband des Österreichischen Buchhandels. The books must be published between 1 October 2021 and 20 September 2022, when the shortlist will be announced. The books themselves, reading copies, e-books or galley proofs may be submitted until 17 June 2022.



The novel of the year is selected through a multiple-stage process. First, the jury reviews all novels submitted by publishers and compiles a longlist of 20 titles, which will be announced on 23 August 2022. From this list, the jurors then select six titles for the shortlist, which will be released on 20 September 2022. These six authors will only find out who among them has won the German Book Prize on the evening of the award ceremony itself.

The ceremony will be held in the Kaisersaal of the Frankfurt Römer on 17 October 2022 to coincide with the start of Frankfurter Buchmesse. The winner will receive 25,000 euros, the five finalists 2,500 euros each. Antje Rávik Strubel won the German Book Prize 2021 for her novel "Blaue Frau" ("Blue Woman").

The German Book Prize is awarded by the Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels (Foundation for Book Culture and the Promotion of Reading of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association). The main sponsor of the German Book Prize is the Deutsche Bank Stiftung (Deutsche Bank Foundation), and the city of Frankfurt am Main is also a partner. The television network Deutsche Welle supports the German Book Prize in its media activities both at home and abroad.

More information and the application materials are available at <u>www.deutscherbuchpreis.de</u>.

The hashtag for the German Book Prize 2022 is **#dbp22**.

Frankfurt am Main, 8 February 2022

Contacts for the media:

Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels e.V. **Thomas Koch**, Head of Press and Public Relations Tel. +49 (0) 69 1306-293, e-mail: <u>t.koch@boev.de</u>

Marie Böhlke, Junior PR Manager

Tel. +49 (0) 69 1306-292, e-mail: boehlke@boev.de