

USACM News August 2021

Announcing the 2021 USACM Award Winners

We are pleased to announce the 2021 USACM Award Winners. These were presented at the 16th U.S. National Congress on Computational Mechanics held virtually on July 26.

John von Neuman Medal



Jacob Fish, Columbia University

For his sustained and seminal contributions to the field of multiscale computational science and engineering and for its major impact on industry.

Belytschko Medal



Gordon Johnson, Southwest Research Institute

In recognition of pioneering and lasting contributions to high-rate computational solid dynamics, particularly constitutive models for metals and brittle materials and explicit methods for finite element and meshfree

particle analysis.

Thomas J.R. Hughes Medal



Qiang Du, Columbia University

For his numerous innovative contributions to computational physics and computational fluid mechanics, and his unwavering service to the scientific computing community.

J. Tinsley Oden Medal



Somnath Ghosh, Johns Hopkins University

For outstanding fundamental contributions to Computational Mechanics of Materials through the development of innovative methodologies in spatiotemporal multi-scale modeling of heterogeneous in

spatio-temporal multi-scale modeling of hetergeneous materials transcending the Mechanics and Materials communities.

Gallagher Young Investigator Award



John Evans,

University of Colorado Boulder

For contributions to isogeometric analysis, structurepreserving discretizations, multiscale and stabilized methods, and immersed methods with application to

fluid mechanics, structural mechanics, and fluid-

structure interaction.

Fellows Award



Harold Park



James Stewart