

Meeting Minutes

Spirit of Peace Church, 01/01/2018

Executive Committee:

Present: Saravanan Vedhachalam, Ramesh Singh, Kalyan Boinapalli, Samar Gogoi, Kumar Thapa, Shyam Balaji, Pallav Deka, Suvarna Sarnikar,

Board of Trustees:

Present: Surapa Alluri, Archana Chatterjee, Ashutosh Gupta, Muthukumarappan K., Ajay Kittur, Laxmi Mishra

Meeting Chairperson:

Present: Archana Chatterjee

Others:

Present: more than 50 community members

Quorum present? Yes

General Assembly Meeting:

- Meeting called to order at 3:30 p.m. by BOT Chair.
- Meeting started with prayer

Agenda:

- Presentation of the Annual Report of the HTOS by the Secretary (Mr. Kalyan Boinapally)
- Presentation of the Audited Accounts for the year 2017 by the Treasurer (Dr. Manohar Velpuri)
- Presentation of the Fund Raising Activities (Mr. Samar Gogoi)
- Temple Construction project update by the Construction Committee (Mr. Ajay Kittur)
- Approval of HTOS Bylaws changes as circulated on 11/23/2017 (Dr. Archana Chatterjee)
- Elections of Executive Committee and BOT nomination (Dr. K. Muthukumarappan)
- Vote of Thanks by the HTOS President (Mr. Saravanan Vedhachalam)

Meeting Notes

- Archana welcomed the attendees, extended New Year Greetings, and called the meeting to order.
- Kalyan presented brief annual report of HTOS activities during 2017 including Pooja events, Diwali, summer picnic, loan approval for temple construction, etc.
- On behalf of Manohar, Ramesh presented financial report giving financial details. Maintenance account had a starting balance of \$32,740 and currently has \$32,425. A total of 7 poojas were conducted during 2017 with a total collection of \$1957 against expenditure of \$1280. Net income for Deepam 2017 event was \$916 (collection: \$6256, Expenditure: 5,340). Capital account had a starting balance of \$105,797 with ending balance of \$115,940. Total donations raised during 2017 was \$33,600 from 31 donor families.
- Samar gave an overview of all the fundraising activities done for collecting donations from devotees. He also talked about 2018 goal of raising \$100,000 and upcoming fundraising

events. Sanjeev shared his idea of fundraising and volunteered to connect with Nepali Community to organize a fund raising concert.

- Ajay presented temple construction updates with drawings and talked about process of awarding contract to Lowell Inc. The start of construction of phase 1 was a bit delayed, but anticipated completion of Phase 1 is in Spring 2018. He also answered a question asked by one of the community members about Phase I and Phase 2 construction.
- Archana and Samar shared their efforts to connect with Avera McKennan Hospital for financial support for Hindu Community Center. Archana gave a summary of services such as Bal Vihar (Sunday School), weekly Poojas, monthly special poojas, library of Hindu literature, youth group etc. that will be offered by the Temple. Some community members also offered to volunteer to coordinate these activities.
- Archana gave an overview of amendments made in the bylaws and asked for an approval from the general assembly. Muthukumarappan moved to approve the changes and the motion was seconded by Jyoti Angal. The motion passed unanimously with no opposing votes and none abstained.
- Muthukumarappan talked about the election process for constituting Executive Committee for 2018-19. There were total 7 members in the Selection Committee. The slate of nominees included Ramesh K. Singh for President, Kalyan Boinapalli for Vice President, Sanjeev Angal for Secretary, Suvarna Sarnikar for Treasurer, Pallav Deka for Asst. Treasurer, Samar Gogoi for Fundraising Coordinator, Manohar Velpuri for Program Coordinator, Shyam Balaji for Facility Coordinator, Vandana Bireddy for Outreach Coordinator, Veera Chandrasekaran for Communication Coordinator, and Sarvannan Vedachalam ex-officio as Past President. Ajay Kittur moved to approve the slate of candidates for the EC positions and the motion was seconded by Jyoti Angal. The motion was passed unanimously with no opposing votes and none abstained.
- Finally, Saravanan presented the Vote of Thanks.
- Archana thanked Saravanan, the outgoing President, for his leadership and services to the HTOS.

Old Business:

None discussed.

Meeting was adjourned at 5:30 PM.