
  
 

Subject of Appeal: Misinformation Case: N5 
 

Event Kaplan Blue Ribbon Pairs Event DIC Harry Falk 
Date 11/29/2016 Session First Qualifying 

  
 Auction Hand Record  
West North East South 

 Pass Pass 1♥ Board  13 N 
Freida 

Dohrman 

2♥1 Pass 2♠ Pass ♠ AK85 
Pass Pass   

Dealer  N ♥ QJ 

    ♦ Q742 
    

Vul  Both ♣ 1043 

 

    
    

W 
Larry 

Cohen E 
Steve 

Weinstein 

    

 

♠ QJ1097 ♠ 432 

♥ 3 ♥ 87652 Explanation of Special Calls 
and Points of Contention 

 
♦ K8 ♦ A96 

1: Spades and a minor ♣ AJ762  ♣ K9 
 

 
S 

Barbara 
Steffek 

 ♠ 6 

 ♥ AK1094 
 ♦ J1053 

 

 
 

♣ Q85 

 

 
Final Contract Result of Play Score Opening Lead 

2♠ by E Made 3 E/W +140 ♥ A 
 

Facts Determined at the Table 
 

The director was called during the next hand. This is the point where East figured out N/S use upside-down 
carding. The play had gone: after the ♥A held trick one, South led the ♦J, which declarer won with the ace. Declarer led a 
trump, and North won. North led another diamond to dummy's king. Declarer led another high trump; North ducked and 
South discarded a heart. Declarer led a small club to the king; North played the 4, South the 5. Declarer now led a small 
club toward the jack; South played the 8, North the 3. Declarer looked at North's convention card (he was planning to play 
this defender for having given true count). The card was marked for no carding agreements, so he assumed they played 
standard. He ruffed a club and took nine tricks. If he had led trumps instead, he could have taken 10 tricks by playing for 
clubs to break 3-3, which they did. 

 

Additional Factors Determined Away from the Table 
 
 The TD polled four players who said they didn't care what the carding agreement was; they would play for clubs 
3-3 or 4-2 based on other information available to them. South's convention card had no markings for defensive carding; 
North's was completely filled-out, including the check box for upside-down count and attitude. 

 

Director Ruling 
 

The TD ruled that the misinformation did not cause the damage, so he could not adjust the score per Laws 21C3 
and 40B4. 

 

Director’s Ruling 2♠ by E, Made 3, E/W +140 
 
 



The Review  
 
 E/W requested a review of the ruling. East said that he had every reason to expect North would give true count, 
and she did. The only reason he went wrong was that he was misinformed as to the N/S carding agreement. He said a 
poll of players was irrelevant. The reviewer spoke to six national and world champions to ask what they would do if they 
picked up a convention card and saw no markings for defensive carding. All of them said they would either look for the 
other defender's convention card or ask a question. When asked whether it was reasonable to assume the opponents 
were using standard carding methods, all six said it was not. 
 

Panel Findings 
 
 N/S were in violation of regulations and conditions of contest which require two completely filled-out convention 
cards. At the same time, the Alert procedures require players to protect themselves. East did not protect himself 
adequately; he would have received the correct information with a question or by looking at a filled-out convention card. 
The table ruling was upheld. The appeal was deemed to have merit. While the appellants' argument was not successful, 
they accurately described the flaw in the table director's ruling - he had not polled the correct element of the ruling. 

 
Panel Decision 2♠ by E, Made 3, E/W +140 

 
Panel Members 

 
Reviewer Matt Koltnow 

 


