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APPEAL NABC+ TWO 
Subject Claim 
DIC Nancy Boyd 
Event IMP Pairs 
Session 2nd Final 
Date March 14, 2015 

 
BD# 3 Cheri Bjerkan 
VUL E-W ♠ A10752 
DLR S ♥ 874 

♦ Q92  

 

♣ AK 
Dennis Kasle Roger Bates 

♠ KJ8 ♠ 963 
♥ Q63 ♥ J952 
♦ KJ63 ♦ A107 
♣ 952  ♣ 763 

Pam Wittes 
♠ Q4 
♥ AK10 
♦ 854 
♣ QJ1084 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3NT by South 

   1♣ Opening Lead ♦3 
P 1♠ P 1NT Table Result Down 1, N/S -50 
P 2♦(1) P 3♣ Director Ruling 3NT by S, Down 2, N/S -100 
P 3NT P P 

 

Screening Ruling 3NT by S, Down 3, N/S -150 
P     Comm. Decision 3NT by S, Down 1, N/S -50 

 
(1) New minor forcing; not alerted 
 

The Facts:  East called the Director to question South’s claim before Board 4 
started. The play had proceeded with four rounds of diamonds. On the fourth diamond 
there was a heart pitch from the North hand, a club by East and a spade by South. West 
switched to a club. Declarer played a heart toward the ten and then claimed when West 
won the queen. 
 

The Ruling:  Given that declarer failed to unblock the clubs, caused the 
blockage with the heart pitch from the North hand and did not mention the club 
blockage in her claim, she was not given credit for pitching the ♣K on the ♥K. The play 
was projected that after West wins, he would lead a heart to the ace, followed by a club 
to the K after which the declarer would ‘wake up’. A low spade from the North hand (the 
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♠A followed by another was deemed too unlikely), would result in the E/W getting a 
spade trick. The result was adjusted to 3N by South, down 2, N/S -100. 
  

The Appeal:  Initially, E/W appealed the ruling of down two, presenting an 
argument for down three. Though the appeal was made in a timely manner, N/S had 
already left the tournament site. The screening director, after considering E/W’s 
argument, changed the result to down 3, alleviating the immediate need for a 
committee. The following day, N/S were informed of the decision. N/S chose to appeal 
the later ruling of down 3. 

South, East and West appeared at the hearing. 
 
Statements made by the Appealing Side: 
 

This was the first board of the session. When interviewed later in the session, 
South said she would have made the unblocking ♣K discard on the third heart. Because 
of the ambiguity in the original claim, she reluctantly accepted the initial ruling of down 
2, but she rejected the hypothetical play of ♠A and another spade as being farfetched. 
She said that she pitched a heart from dummy (rather than a safer spade) to try to 
deflect the defense from a more damaging spade shift. 
 
Statements made by the Non-Appealing Side: 
 

East asked South to state a line. She did not elaborate, so he asked her specifically 
what she would do on a heart return. Instead of answering, someone (South or East – 
disputed) called the Director. Later, East said that on the hypothetical line on which 
South fails to find the unblocking discard and instead leads a second club to dummy, ace 
and a spade is a valid alternative, which he asserted was mathematically superior to the 
posited line of a low spade to the queen. Moreover, East contended that a player who 
had played poorly enough to reach that position should not be given the benefit of 
finding the winning play at the end. 
 

The Decision:  The Committee rejected the premise of the initial ruling. They 
thought that declarer, faced with the club blockage after a heart return would surely find 
the unblocking discard. Furthermore, they judged that the heart return itself was 
extremely unlikely. West had already played a club instead of a more obvious high 
spade, so he would not be returning the suit that Declarer was playing herself. 
Accordingly, the result was changed back to the original claim of 3NT by South, Down 1, 
N/S -50. 

The debate between down 2 and down 3 was no longer relevant. However, the AC 
determined that a low spade (as in the original ruling) is the superior percentage play 
versus ace and another spade (as in the amended ruling) by a ratio of 5 to 2. 
 

The Committee:  Ron Gerard (Chair), Bart Bramley (Scribe), Aaron Silverstein, 
Jan Jansma and Ish Delmonte 
  
 
Commentary: 
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Wildavsky – The AC decision is well reasoned. While I can understand the contrary 
point of view I believe the AC made the right decision here. This was a controversial 
case, in part because it was believed at the time that it could change the winner of the 
event. This turned out to not be the case. 
 
Martel – I don’t think the committee’s considering the likelihood of W leading a heart 
is relevant (or at any rate, only relevant knowing S hand). 
 
Marques – This case is very different from the typical bad claim. South didn’t state all 
possible lines of play, but this doesn’t mean that she has gone astray to the point of 
forgetting to unblock the club King if needed. Even with the benefit of the doubt to the 
opponents, the sequence of events seems to indicate that South was operating in a 
normal frame of mind when she claimed. Good decision by the AC. 
 
Kooijman – I think it to be enough to decide that declarer will unblock the ♣K in case 
of a heart return, leading to one off. That is the vital issue. No need, nor recommended, 
to expose the superior bridge knowledge of the committee. 
 
Goldsmith – Contested claims are hard. This time, the AC gave declarer too much 
credit. She didn't foresee the club blockage problem before she claimed, and she didn't 
mention the unblocking play in her claim statement, so for a player who had played the 
hand as she did, failing to unblock is a careless play, not an irrational one. East even 
gave declarer a chance to say, "if you return a heart, I can pitch the ♣K on the high 
heart," but she didn't. Yes, this declarer is good enough to see the unblocking play when 
she's playing normally; when she's playing carelessly, however, which is how claimers 
must, then she might not. 

The laws say to resolve any doubtful points against the claimer, and whether 
declarer would take six or seven tricks after a heart return and a club continuation is 
definitely doubtful. Down three. 
 
Woolsey – This is a difficult case. The problem is that it is clear that declarer didn't see 
the entry problem, since if she had she certainly would have discarded a spade rather 
than a heart on the fourth diamond. On her line of play she could have gone down 2 with 
8 top tricks if the clubs had been 5-1. Of course she should see the unblocking discard 
after West returns a heart, but she might not. She did not state the unblock in her claim. 
 On the other hand, how likely is it that West would find a heart return? He has 
already attacked clubs, he has seen declarer attack hearts, and he failed to make an 
obvious spade shift earlier. Yes, in theory he could work out declarer's exact hand at this 
point, but in practice that just wasn't going to happen. It is proper to make the 
adjustment on the assumption of what is likely to happen, not on an extremely unlikely 
defense. For this reason, I agree with the committee's decision. 
 I'm concerned about the statement that E/W filed the appeal in a timely manner 
but N/S had already left the playing site. What is a timely manner? If a pair is permitted 
to file an appeal after the session is complete, that allows them to wait until the 
opponents have left the site so the opponents will not know about the appeal and be able 
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to present their side. If the appeal was filed before the session was over, as should be 
required, why weren't N/S told during the session? 
 At any rate, E/W got what they deserved. They had already received a favorable 
ruling because the director was not a good enough bridge player to realize that West 
would never be returning a heart. They tried for more on a ridiculous technicality, and 
got less. Sometimes there is justice. 
 
 
 

 


