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APPEAL NON-NABC+ TWO 
Subject Misinformation 
DIC Susan Doe 
Event North American Pairs, Flt. B 
Session Second Qualifying 
Date March 15, 2015 

 
BD# 29 2900 masterpoints 
VUL Both ♠ KQ1076 
DLR N ♥ 1087 

♦ 2  

 

♣ Q1075 
1900 masterpoints 1425 masterpoints 
♠ J842 ♠ A9 
♥ AK2 ♥ J4 
♦ KQ874 ♦ AJ1093 
♣ 2  ♣ K863 

1300 masterpoints 
♠ 53 
♥ Q9653 
♦ 65 
♣ AJ94 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3NT by East 

 P 1NT(1) P Opening Lead ♦6 
2♣ (2) P 2♦ (3) P Table Result Made 4, N/S -630 
2♠ (4) P 3♣ (5) P Director Ruling 3NT by E, Made 4, N/S -630 
3NT P P P 

 

Panel Decision 3NT by E, Made 4, N/S -630 
 
(1) 13-15 balanced 
(2) Asks for description of hand. NOT Stayman 
(3) 4+ diamonds, and probably no 4-card major. Not alerted or explained 
(4) Alerted, explained during the auction as West’s “stronger” major. 
(5) 4 clubs. Explained when asked. 
 

The Facts:  The director was called after the opening lead, and again at the end 
of play. The East/West pair had some apparent language difficulties. The 2♠ bid was 
explained as West’s “stronger” major. Since East persisted in that explanation while 
looking at the dummy, it appears that she meant his “longer” major. 

Declarer won the opening lead, and cashed five rounds of diamonds, ending in 
dummy. North discarded two hearts, a spade, and a club. South threw two hearts and a 
spade. Declarer next led the ♠2 from dummy, and, when North played low, inserted the 
9, which held the trick. Eventually she threw South in with a heart, to force a club 
return, giving her a tenth trick. 
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The North player contended that, had he been told that 2♠ showed West’s 
“longer” major, rather than his “stronger”, he would have doubled the final contract, 
suggesting a spade lead.  
 

The Ruling:  The Director ruled that the explanation of 2♠ was not sufficient 
misinformation to cause damage. The ♦6 lead did not disadvantage the defense. Also, 
although the defenders were not yet aware of it when they called the director, the failure 
to alert the 2♦ bid was deemed not proximate to the cause of the result. Since the 
offending side did not gain from the irregularity, no adjustment to the score was 
necessary. 
  

The Appeal:  North/South appealed, claiming: 
 
(1) North would have doubled the final contract, had he not been misinformed. 
(2) South, had he been told that 2♦ showed diamonds, would have led a spade in any 

case. 
(3) If South had led a spade, North would not have “misguessed” the spade position by 

playing low the first time the suit was led. He told the reviewer that he was 
concerned that his partner might have held the singleton ♠9. 

(4) Furthermore, after cashing their spades, North would have shifted to the ♣Q, 
allowing the defense to cash four club tricks. 

 
They felt the result should be adjusted to 3NT doubled, down one. 
Unfortunately, the East/West pair had a very bad game, and had left the playing 

area before the reviewer could speak with them, so the reviewer could only interview the 
table director, and the N/S pair. Since the ruling was irrelevant to E/W, the panel chose 
only to consider an adjustment for N/S. 

To get a better sense of what might have happened had N/S gotten the correct 
information, ten partnerships, with strengths ranging from 2000 masterpoints to 
national champion, were given the North and South hands to bid and defend. 

No North player expressed any interest in doubling the final contract. When the 
possibility was raised, all ten refused to consider it. 

Interestingly, all ten South players, when given proper information, chose to lead 
a heart. A heart lead gives declarer her ninth trick immediately and a spade lead to the 
9, as happened at the table, would result in a tenth. 

If a diamond lead was imposed on the defense, there was a wide variety in the 
discards on the run of the diamonds. However, of the seven North players who did not 
discard two spades, all seven inserted the ten when a low spade was led from dummy. 
Several of the players, when asked, felt that playing a low spade would be a serious 
error. 

Finally, when thrown in with a spade, only two of the eight North players who 
switched to a club chose either the queen or the ten. The others were concerned with 
removing a guess in the suit from declarer. 
 

The Decision:  The panel determined that the N/S version of what would have 
happened had they been given more accurate information did not meet that standard of 
“likely”, as specified in Law 12C.1.e. It is easy to come up with such a defense after the 
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hand, but, given that no pair in the reviewer’s poll came up with any of the plays that 
North/South contended they would have made, the panel was unconvinced that the 
players in question would have found those plays at the table. 

The issue of whether the appeal had merit was considered. While it was 
eventually decided that the N/S argument was specious, the issues raised were 
sufficiently complex that it was not completely unreasonable to ask that they be 
considered more carefully by a panel. Thus, the appeal was found to have sufficient 
merit. 
 

The Panel:  David Metcalf (reviewer), Gary Zeiger, Jenni Carmichael 
 
 Commentary: 
 
Wildavsky – Thorough work by the panel. I prefer their reasoning to the TD's, 
although both led to the same ruling. 
 
Martel – Good. 
 
Marques – Good decision and good polling to back it up. Just as an aside, the standard 
of “serious error” should be analyzed and decide by the TD. The players’ opinion might 
not comply with the technical standards required for an action to be considered a 
serious error. But asking them to qualify the play yields useful information to decide. 
 
Kooijman – I am collecting serious errors (apart from my own bridge) and I agree not 
playing the ♠10 by North is one. Not important for this case, no merit and an almost 
poetic escape from the committee finding one. 
 
Goldsmith – I think the panel did a very good job collecting information. They 
convinced me to rule as they did. 
 
Woolsey – Of course the ruling is correct for all the obvious reasons. While maybe the 
situation is complex enough so as to not award an appeal without merit, I would have 
awarded one so the N/S pair gets the message that they can't appeal this sort of situation 
as a free shot. If we don't do this, they will continue to make such appeals. 
 


