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APPEAL NABC+ ONE 
Subject Misinformation 
DIC Doug Grove 
Event Platinum Pairs 
Session 2nd Qualifier 
Date March 15, 2013 

 
BD# 23  Daniel Gerstman 
VUL Both ♠ K32 
DLR S ♥ -- 
 ♦ K9653 

♣ A10973 
John Diamond 

 

Bob Hamman 
♠ J976 ♠ A84 
♥ AJ743 ♥ KQ65 
♦ 7 ♦ A102 
♣ Q65 ♣ KJ4 

Kenneth Kranyak 
♠ Q105 
♥ 10982 
♦ QJ84 
♣ 82 

 
West North East  South  Final Contract 2♦X by North 

   P Opening Lead ♥K 
P 1♦ 1NT 2♦(1) Table Result Making 4, N/S +580 
X P P P Director Ruling 2♦X by North, Making 4, N/S +580 
    Committee Ruling 2♦X by North, Making 4, N/S +580 

 
(1) Alerted and explained as “majors” 
 
The Facts:  North alerted South’s 2♦ bid and explained it was for the majors, but that there was 
a possibility that South had forgotten. West doubled to show values. The Director was 
summoned at the end of the auction. North was then sent away from the table and South, upon 
being asked for the meaning, explained it was for the majors. After the opening lead of the king 
of hearts, 2♦X made four for N/S +580. 
 
The Ruling:  South had forgotten his agreement when he bid 2♦, but explained their partnership 
agreement correctly when asked so there was no infraction and the table result was allowed to 
stand. 
 
The Appeal:  East and West appealed the ruling and East, West and South attended the hearing. 
East/West were willing to stipulate that North/South’s agreement was as explained, but East 
alleged that North’s failure to bid 2♠ over West’s double indicated that North knew that South 
did not have majors and therefore, East/West were damaged by the misinformation.  
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South, who said he had forgotten his partnership agreement, was reminded of it by his partner’s 
explanation and gave that same explanation when asked about the meaning of his 2♦ bid, 
thinking that his obligation was to describe his partnership agreement and not his hand. He also 
said that the conventional meaning was described in his partnership’s system notes that he had 
earlier in the week, but that were no longer available. 
 
The Decision:  The Appeals Committee held that there was no indication from North’s Pass that 
he had any undisclosed knowledge or that the meaning of 2♦ was not as explained. North had no 
unauthorized information that prevented him from passing and he could always bid 2♠ if 
necessary on the next round. The AC discounted East/West’s stipulation as to the meaning of 2♦, 
since the AC is obliged to argue the non-offenders’ best case for them, but it found that the 
Law’s presumption of mistaken explanation rather than mistaken call does not apply when both 
partners agree as to the meaning. South’s delayed agreement after North’s explanation was 
troubling, but whereas South was not entitled to base any bridge action on North’s explanation 
he was obligated to describe his partnership agreement to the opponents. Therefore, the 
committee upheld the Director’s ruling, but felt that because of South’s original uncertainty the 
appeal had merit.  
 
As an aside, South asked whether it was his obligation to include in his explanation of 2♦ for the 
majors a statement to the effect of, “But that’s not what I thought at the time.” Under current 
laws and regulations, he is not required to do so. However, voluntarily disclosing his confusion 
(in effect, describing his hand as well as his agreement) would not have been wrong. The Laws 
Commission is considering whether to recommend that the Laws be interpreted to require such a 
statement. 
 
The Committee:  Ron Gerard (Chair), Mitch Dunitz, Patty Tucker, E.J. Kales and Ray Miller 
  


