APPEAL NABC+ SIX
Subject Disputed Claim
DIC Richard Beye
Event Silver Ribbon
Session First Qualifier
Date March 17, 2013
BD# 2 Michael Cassel
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West | North | East | South Final Contract 2v by East
2y P Opening Lead +6
P P Table Result
Director Ruling 2v by East, Down 1, N/S +50
Committee Ruling 2v by East, Down 1, N/S +50

The Facts: With six cards left, East claimed. The play up until that point was as follows:

Trick 1: #6 won by ¢K

Trick 2: ¥J won by YK

Tricks 3-5: Spades, Declarer ruffing in at Trick 5
Trick 6: YQ won by YA

Trick 7: Low & won by #J

After playing to the first seven tricks, East exposed his cards and North/South said, ‘Don’t we
get a diamond trick?’ East confirmed that they did. Neither North nor South heard East say
anything about pulling the last trump, so the director was summoned. When asked by the
director, West was not sure that East had said anything about pulling trump either.

The Ruling: Law 70.C.3 says that the Director will award a trick to the defense if Declarer fails
to mention an outstanding trump at the time of his claim if it is at all likely that he is unaware of
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it and a trick can be lost to that trump through normal play. Accordingly, the Director ruled that
the Declarer loses the ¢ A and a diamond ruff, 2% by East, down 1, N/S +50.

The Appeal: East/West appealed the ruling and all four players attended the hearing. East felt
that his pulling the last trump was obvious even though he failed to mention it during the claim.
The non-offending side maintained that East failed to mention the outstanding trump during the
claim.

The Decision: The awarding of a trick to an unmentioned outstanding trump during a claim is
not automatic. The Declarer played the hand in a way that appeared he was conscious of the
outstanding trump until the very end. When Declarer was last in his hand, he claimed the
remaining tricks. When told that the ¢ A was still out and would win a trick he conceded the
diamond trick but still failed to mention the outstanding trump. The Appeals Committee felt that
with the amount of time and confusion with the claim, East’s failure to mention the outstanding
trump was a sign that he did not remember it. Accordingly, the AC upheld the Director’s ruling
that East/West was down one with the outstanding trump winning a trick. The appeal was found
to have merit.

The Committee: Jim Thurtell (Chair), Craig Allen, Ed Lazarus, E.J. Kales and Marc
Rabinowitz
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