TENNESSEE MEMBER OF THE YEAR

"AUDREY BATSON MEMORIAL AWARD"

This article is meant to be a history of this award, how it came about and what it means.

HOW THEN, DOES ONE QUALIFY FOR THIS PRESTIGIOUS AWARD?

"BY THEIR WORKS YOU SHALL KNOW THEM"

In the beginning ...

During the year of 1989, a group of Tennessee State Staff members began to explore possible ways to honor a Tennessee member, Audrey Batson. This lady's dedication to her husband's chosen avocation was well known to the Tennessee Members. Her dedication, zeal and commitment to GWRRA went far above the call to duty. In spite of a debilitating illness, her spirit was an inspiration to many and THE TENNESSEE MEMBER OF THE YEAR award was created. Audrey Batson was to be the first recipient of this annual award. This was to be presented to her in the presence of as many of the Tennessee members as possible, the Tennessee State Rally. In November 1989, Audrey succumbed to her illness. In order to honor and perpetuate her memory, the name of the award was changed to THE AUDREY BATSON MEMORIAL AWARD – TENNESSEE MEMBER OF THE YEAR. A Special award was presented to her posthumously at the Tennessee State Rally in April 1990. Her husband, Ron Batson, was honored by being the first recipient of the AUDREY BATSON MEMORIAL AWARD – TENNESSEE MEMBER OF THE YEAR at the same rally. Since then 32 other Tennessee members or couples have been selected to receive this award ... the highest honor that can be bestowed on any Tennessee GWRRA member.

THE SELECTION PROCESS:

There will be only one award given in any year. The person receiving the award does not have to prove himself/herself by any type of test or oral presentation. He or she does not have to present himself/herself in any way after he/she has been nominated. An effort will be made to keep the nomination secret from the person/persons chosen.

RULES FOR THIS AWARD:

- 1. The nominee & nominator both must be full Members of GWRRA and participate in Tennessee with membership fees paid in full.
- 2. The nominee does not have to be an officer in any capacity.
- 3. The nominator must submit a written nomination letter stating why he or she believes the person should be considered for this prestigious award. Try to be as comprehensive as possible as to why they feel this person should be considered.
- 4. The nominator's membership number, as well as the nominee's membership number, along with the nominator's address and phone number should be included. A committee will then choose from the written nominations a recipient of the award before the next Tennessee District Rally. The written nomination should be sent to the TN District Director either by mail or email:

Dennis and Jan Peterson 565 Pond Apple Road Clarksville TN 37043 gwrratn.dd@gmail.com

Not responsible for nominations not received. Please verify your nomination letter is received. For questions call, 931-302-5283

NOMINATIONS MUST BE RECEIVED BY THE TN DISTRICT DIRECTOR NO LATER THAN MARCH 15, 2021.

TENNESSEE MEMBERS WHO HAVE BEEN HONORED WITH THIS AWARD

- 1989 Ron Batson
- 1990 Shirley Burton
- 1991 Opal Lee
- 1992 Diane Stang
- 1993 Houston & Kathy Brown
- 1994 Zearl & Jane Black
- 1995 John & Louise Koty
- 1996 Bob & Ann Willoughby
- 1997 Brenda & Joe Neeley
- 1998 Gary & Cheryl Sanford
- 1999 Tom & Carolyn Sanford
- 2000 Sam & Nancy Winters
- 2001 William & Sondra Simmons
- 2002 Richard & Jeanell Banner
- 2003 Ray & Sheila Massengale
- 2004 Tom & Kathy Peck
- 2005 Bill & Margaret Roland
- 2006 Boots & Phyllis Streetman
- 2007 Jerry & Leisa Childers
- 2008 Norm Sorrell
- 2009 Jeff & Cherri Liner
- 2010 Boyd & Dianne Hixson
- 2011 Randy & Delores Galloway
- 2012 Gary & Patti Hamilton
- 2013 Jim & Mary Cobb
- 2014 Charlie & Pam Huffman
- 2015 ?
- 2016 Dennis & Anne Greer
- 2017-
- 2018-
- 2019-
- 2020-